Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was excellent, after a couple of tweaks. It's an excellent starting point for getting it more to your preferred flavors (more vinegar, less vinegar, sweeter...etc.) The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe and it ended up tasting like pure vinegar. Some people actually loved it...I love vinegar, but could not even eat it. The second time I made a single batch of it, I used 3 tbsp cider vinegar and 1 tbsp white vinegar, instead of 1/4 cup white vinegar (just to take a little of the bite out), 2 tbsp sugar, instead of 3, 2 tsp salt, added 1/4 tsp celery seed, boiled 9 smallish/medium red potatoes whole, then sliced them, leaving some of the skins on. Also, use 3/4 cup chicken broth, instead of 2 tbsp water. Oh, yeah...and A LOT more bacon, 4 strips of bacon is for sissies! lol Anyway, after the modifications I listed above, this was an AWESOME potato salad! The family could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Firth Riopta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My husband challenged me to make a German potato salad that could compare to his grandmother's. I made this, and he said it definitely compares, and that if she were still living, she'd have enjoyed it as much as he did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have made this a number of times and always get compliments and requests for seconds! Usually I increase the recipe for 6 as we love leftovers (actually I think it tastes even better heated up the next day) -- I use the exact recipe except I usually fry up extra bacon -- (can anything have too much bacon?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very, very good. Just like my German Mom used to make, although she would cook the potatoes in their "jackets" then roughly peel/dice them into the bacon/vinegar sauce, plus I think she added some caraway. THANK YOU for bringing back a beloved childhood recipe I was having a hard time re-creating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Fantastic! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for a summer potluck and didn't have any to bring home. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you for posting it...Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made something like this for years. I fry up a lot more bacon and use balsamic vinegar ( light or dark, slightly sweet version). I also agree that it needs some celery seed. Friends from out-of-state are heart-broken if I don't have this when they arrive. We fry it after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Show stopper. Every time I serve it I get rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
We have tried a number of different German Potato Salad recipes and this one is our all time favorite. The methods are different than in Germany but I still love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie Rieth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Liked it with the following additions: Added 1/2 cup (used light) Mayo, 2 T. of Dijon mustard and Celery Seed. Also, don't be tempted to drain off the bacon grease. It's key to this dish. (Just don't eat it too often!) Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhawksrule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States