Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tripled the sauce, because I was not sure how much I would need to cover my potatoes and I did not want to run out. I used a pound of bacon, and I used Russet potatoes. To keep the potatoes from getting "mushy" pop them on a baking sheet in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes, then mix them with the other ingredients. This helps them hold their shape. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe several times for potlucks and group dinner events... Sometimes I add in other sautéed veggies - mushrooms, celery, carrots, etc. It's all good! I don't eat meat, so I leave the bacon out. This dish is seriously easy to make and very seriously delicious. I love that it doesn't use the heavy mayo in other potato recipes. I sub dried parsley, and it tastes just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Korver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this recipe and this was fantastic. And everyone loved it and it quickly vanished off the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great potato salad! I doubled the recipe and made extra sauce. I probably made too much sauce but it tasted great. Everyone loved it! I will definitely make this again. Thank-you so much for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't peel the potatoes, but put them in with skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe that my Grandmother Edna taught me. She would "cut" up the bacon into bits with kitchen shears, and fry til brown with the onions. To this she would add 2 tab of plain flour to make the rue and then add the sugar, salt, water and vinegar. I leave out the pepper due to allergies, but substitue sweet basil in its place. Once the "gravy" has thickened we pour it over the cooled taters and stir gently. Sometimes we garnish with boiled egg slices, but like the recipe that's posted, ours doesn't last long either. I've also used brown sugar when white wasn't available, worked out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I love the contrast of the vinegar and the sugar. Regular potato salads , the ones made with mayones make my stomach fell heavy and I just don't fell good after eating it but, this potato salad is even refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
great potato salad..I usggest you use less sugar, and more bacon, and cut the potato cubes a little larger size when cold and nuke'em for 1 min. 30 sec. in the microwave (this prevents them from falling apart and cooks them thoroughly w/ no guess work)...all your guests will marvel how you got perfect cubes that were cooked thoroughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjwintl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very easy to make! I cut up the bacon before I fry it seems faster to me. Good flavor and not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It is too sweet for a patato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States