Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have made this a number of times and always get compliments and requests for seconds! Usually I increase the recipe for 6 as we love leftovers (actually I think it tastes even better heated up the next day) -- I use the exact recipe except I usually fry up extra bacon -- (can anything have too much bacon?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very, very good. Just like my German Mom used to make, although she would cook the potatoes in their "jackets" then roughly peel/dice them into the bacon/vinegar sauce, plus I think she added some caraway. THANK YOU for bringing back a beloved childhood recipe I was having a hard time re-creating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Fantastic! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for a summer potluck and didn't have any to bring home. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you for posting it...Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made something like this for years. I fry up a lot more bacon and use balsamic vinegar ( light or dark, slightly sweet version). I also agree that it needs some celery seed. Friends from out-of-state are heart-broken if I don't have this when they arrive. We fry it after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Show stopper. Every time I serve it I get rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
We have tried a number of different German Potato Salad recipes and this one is our all time favorite. The methods are different than in Germany but I still love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Liked it with the following additions: Added 1/2 cup (used light) Mayo, 2 T. of Dijon mustard and Celery Seed. Also, don't be tempted to drain off the bacon grease. It's key to this dish. (Just don't eat it too often!) Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhawksrule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe, I just finished making it. We're taking it to a cookout later today - then we'll know how good it is. For all the complaints about whether it's "authentic German" or not: this morning I told my German wife (unlike many Americans who say "I'm German" or whatever, she is REALLY German born in Duesseldorf and we married while I was in the Army in Germany) that I wanted to make "German potato salad" and she got out all the ingredients for potato salad from her region - North Rhein Westfalia - including pickles and mayo. I said, no, we're doing this, and she said, "oh that's how they make it in Bavaria." There are COUNTLESS recipes for "authentic German potato salad"! This is a great dish -- at the advice of many, I used much less sugar and it came out really good. I tripled the recipe since we're going to a cookout and that was okay, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States