Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am going to skip cooking the onion in bacon grease next time but otherwise this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlih

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I just made this for the first time. As some suggested, I cut the sugar and used apple cider vinegar. It is amazing! My problem is trying not to eat it before dinner! I don't usually like potato salad but I sure do now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I thought it was kind of boring. Its edible...but I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was wonderful!!! But if I make it again I wonder about using pre-cooked bacon. Could anybody guess how much oil I would use in place of the bacon drippings? (No! of course it won't be as good but maybe healthier???)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this! I doubled the recipe & had leftovers that disappeared way too fast! I'm going to make this again for Fathers Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Quite easy to make and very good. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe very closely but cooking in bacon grease just scares me a bit too much. So now I just make it with olive oil. I add a little bit of the store bought bacon bits at the end though. When I made it exactly as written, it was good. My hubby liked it a lot, too but he likes it saucy so now I just add more sugar/vinegar mixture. No exact measurement(probably kinda like double or triple the recipe and then adjust a bit to my like). The result has been very good and I don't have to feel so bad since I don't cook in bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
OK, let me say how impressed I am. I lived in Austria and Germany for several years, and have eaten kilo afer kilo of this culinary delight. The dressing was absolutely what we ate there. Es war halt fantatisch! My one critique was how the potatoes were prepared. Most of the potato salads I had in OS and DE boiled the potatoes whole for 11-15 minutes. They would then let them cool, then peel and sliced thin into discs. The slightly cooled discs were then added to the hot dressing. I prefer the mouthfeel of the slices potatoes rather then cubing them, and I felt like boiling them precut they were a tiny bit overcooked. Having said that, this was an amazing recipe, which is why I gave it five stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I cut back on the amount of sugar. I was doubling the recipe, but stopped at 5 T sugar (instead of 6). It is still too sweet. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. We did not peel the (red) potatoes. Since the potatoes soak up the sauce, I will double the sauce next time which is more typical of a true German potato salad. We also served it cold and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
First time I tried this recipe, amazing. My kids loved it and thats all that counts to a single dad. Added more water though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States