Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I thought it was pretty good. A bit sweet I think I may cut down a tad on the sugar next time. My family liked it I hope all the kids at my 5th graders school like it. With the sugar, they probably will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I make it all the time, however, I use "apple cider " vinegar it taste alot better then white vinegar. Try it you will see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Loved it my nana added a little corn starch and celery seed so I did too. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Both my husband and I love this potato salad! After tying this recipe, we no longer need potato salad with mayo. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Didn't wind up with any sauce what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this several times and it's just the tastiest potato salad ever--German or otherwise! Best made ahead of time, and served at room temperature---or a day ahead, and taken out of the refrig a few hours before serving. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very good but when I make it next time I will put less sugar. A bit too sweet in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really a good recipe!! We enjoyed it with red cabbage and some great sausages (I made those myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was excellent, after a couple of tweaks. It's an excellent starting point for getting it more to your preferred flavors (more vinegar, less vinegar, sweeter...etc.) The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe and it ended up tasting like pure vinegar. Some people actually loved it...I love vinegar, but could not even eat it. The second time I made a single batch of it, I used 3 tbsp cider vinegar and 1 tbsp white vinegar, instead of 1/4 cup white vinegar (just to take a little of the bite out), 2 tbsp sugar, instead of 3, 2 tsp salt, added 1/4 tsp celery seed, boiled 9 smallish/medium red potatoes whole, then sliced them, leaving some of the skins on. Also, use 3/4 cup chicken broth, instead of 2 tbsp water. Oh, yeah...and A LOT more bacon, 4 strips of bacon is for sissies! lol Anyway, after the modifications I listed above, this was an AWESOME potato salad! The family could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Firth Riopta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My husband challenged me to make a German potato salad that could compare to his grandmother's. I made this, and he said it definitely compares, and that if she were still living, she'd have enjoyed it as much as he did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty_13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States