Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
it was ok, but i cannot eat pork, so i didn't add any bacon. I think the lack of meat is what made me not like it. Im sure if i had some meat, it would be 5 stars. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe! And best: no flour in the dressing. So many recipes call for flour which is unnecessary because the starch from the potatoes thickens the dressing. I do add two cut up hard-boiled eggs per my German husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Absolutely looove this recipe! I've cooked this before and have had rave reviews from husband and guests/ friends.. Authentic or not? It's a hit! I lived in Germany for a few years, long enough to get a taste of their customs.. and I truly can't say whether it's authentic or not... While in Germany it was really good.. Living in the U.S.A. it's really good.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have been eating and making German potato sale for most of my life. This is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was an amazing potato salad recipe! As many other reviewers have stated, I added about 3/4 tsp celery seed. I made a large amount for a picnic (a whole 5# bag of potatoes!) and there was just enough left afterward for me to add to my lunch the next day. This is a safe recipe for a picnic since it doesn't contain cheese or mayo, and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Devoured by everyone at the cookout! Will definitely make this a staple at all of our upcoming events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good but a littlw too sweet use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Found this after going to Hermann Mo and wanted to get some German style sides for home! I follow exactly using baby red potatoes cut up in quarters. I also use Apple Cider Vinegar since I think it's got a great flavor that works well with any meat main dishes. The best batch I made was prepared in a cast iron pot and placed in a 200 degree oven for 30-45 minutes while the rest of the food finished cooking. That little time in the oven put this over the top as all the flavors had a little more time to meld without overdoing the red potatoes. Also, being lazy, I dice the bacon up first and never pull it back out of the pan after it's crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was Amazing - used apple cider vinegar (vs. white) and coconut palm sugar (vs. sugar) - family Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I also liked this potato salad but read what others said and decided to modify it. I used 6 large Yukon gold potatoes and boiled them with the skins on in salted water. Covered them with water and about 1 t salt. I used 7 slices of bacon, fried them crisp, and discarded all but about 2 T of bacon grease. One large onion and a couple green onions for color. 1/4 cup plus 2 T vinegar. (I added extra because people said it was dry). 3 T water. 2 t white sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Then 1 t salt and pepper to taste. And parsley for color. I followed the rest of the directions, but put all the crumbled bacon in at once, and poured the sauce over the cubed potatoes. I did this for 6 people and it all went. I could have even made more for leftovers had I known my guests would of went crazy for it. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States