Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Loved it my nana added a little corn starch and celery seed so I did too. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Both my husband and I love this potato salad! After tying this recipe, we no longer need potato salad with mayo. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Didn't wind up with any sauce what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this several times and it's just the tastiest potato salad ever--German or otherwise! Best made ahead of time, and served at room temperature---or a day ahead, and taken out of the refrig a few hours before serving. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very good but when I make it next time I will put less sugar. A bit too sweet in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really a good recipe!! We enjoyed it with red cabbage and some great sausages (I made those myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was excellent, after a couple of tweaks. It's an excellent starting point for getting it more to your preferred flavors (more vinegar, less vinegar, sweeter...etc.) The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe and it ended up tasting like pure vinegar. Some people actually loved it...I love vinegar, but could not even eat it. The second time I made a single batch of it, I used 3 tbsp cider vinegar and 1 tbsp white vinegar, instead of 1/4 cup white vinegar (just to take a little of the bite out), 2 tbsp sugar, instead of 3, 2 tsp salt, added 1/4 tsp celery seed, boiled 9 smallish/medium red potatoes whole, then sliced them, leaving some of the skins on. Also, use 3/4 cup chicken broth, instead of 2 tbsp water. Oh, yeah...and A LOT more bacon, 4 strips of bacon is for sissies! lol Anyway, after the modifications I listed above, this was an AWESOME potato salad! The family could not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Firth Riopta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My husband challenged me to make a German potato salad that could compare to his grandmother's. I made this, and he said it definitely compares, and that if she were still living, she'd have enjoyed it as much as he did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have made this a number of times and always get compliments and requests for seconds! Usually I increase the recipe for 6 as we love leftovers (actually I think it tastes even better heated up the next day) -- I use the exact recipe except I usually fry up extra bacon -- (can anything have too much bacon?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very, very good. Just like my German Mom used to make, although she would cook the potatoes in their "jackets" then roughly peel/dice them into the bacon/vinegar sauce, plus I think she added some caraway. THANK YOU for bringing back a beloved childhood recipe I was having a hard time re-creating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States