Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I also liked this potato salad but read what others said and decided to modify it. I used 6 large Yukon gold potatoes and boiled them with the skins on in salted water. Covered them with water and about 1 t salt. I used 7 slices of bacon, fried them crisp, and discarded all but about 2 T of bacon grease. One large onion and a couple green onions for color. 1/4 cup plus 2 T vinegar. (I added extra because people said it was dry). 3 T water. 2 t white sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Then 1 t salt and pepper to taste. And parsley for color. I followed the rest of the directions, but put all the crumbled bacon in at once, and poured the sauce over the cubed potatoes. I did this for 6 people and it all went. I could have even made more for leftovers had I known my guests would of went crazy for it. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I have made this German Potato Salad several times and wish that I have made the batch bigger each and every time. Easy and quick recipe for someone like myself who cannot cook. I follow the directions to the T and it taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Everyone has loved this recipe! I'm now begged to make it for family functions and dinner once a week. I'll never make any other type of potato salad. They only thing I do a little different is add a bit more vinegar! And I always have to triple it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We loved it, my boys ask for it often, won't eat store/deli brand anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita LaMonda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! I decided to try it instead of the usual mayonnaise based recipe that I use for family gatherings. My family loved it and everyone has requested the recipe. There was not a drop left, even though I quadrupled the recipe! I will definitely be making this again and again. I used red potatoes so I left the skins on and I used apple cider vinegar because I like the flavor. Otherwise, exactly like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Best potato salad I have ever made. Husband and daughter loved it. So easy. Used only 2 pcs of bacon and added them while everything was in the frying pan, so the bacon didn't have the crunch; but hubby has congestive heart failure so the bacon needs to be less than most recipes. He asked me to make it again and told me what he might also want to have it with. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Have made this particular type of potato salad several times for holidays and special occasions for those who don't care for the mayonnaise based potato salad. The only substitution I used was cider vinegar instead of white and baby gold potatoes .. This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Don't over cook potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am going to skip cooking the onion in bacon grease next time but otherwise this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlih

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States