Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My "authentic" recipe calls for a teaspoon of celery seed, it adds a nice texture...this is my favorite potato salad. You can use the same bacon/onion/vinegar/sugar sauce for spinach or bibb lettuce -- pour the sauce while hot over the greens to create a fabulous "wilted lettuce" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
471 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is about as authentic as it gets! Delicious!!! Because of the cholesterol, I am considering using canola or olive oil instead of bacon grease and substituting artificial bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
We had this with grilled bratwurst tonight. What a wonderful combination. At first I thought it was going to be too sweet, but as the flavors began to blend and cook a little bit I realized I was wrong. I wouldn't change a thing. My husband especially liked the flavors. We’ll save this in our tried and true cookbook. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Excellent recipe! Will definately do again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Awsome and simple. Made it with red bliss from the farmers market. No changes needed. It was a big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
this potato salad tasted amazing. I used a suggestion from another reviewer and used just a little olive oil and some Jarred real bacon pieces, but it still turned out fantastic. My husband didnt like that it was warm, but he ate every bit of it for leftovers straight from the fridge. I am Very impressed with this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was excellent! My family loved it and I definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakerton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Absolutely the MOST delicious hot German Potato Salad we've ever eaten. I increased the recipe by 10 for an Oktoberfest/housewarming party. Had to do most of the assembly in a large foil pan and pour the dressing over top prior to baking. It still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I had a recipe at one time that was authentic.....this is it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
It was a little sweet for my tastes at first but it quickly grew on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States