Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is about as authentic as it gets! Delicious!!! Because of the cholesterol, I am considering using canola or olive oil instead of bacon grease and substituting artificial bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
We had this with grilled bratwurst tonight. What a wonderful combination. At first I thought it was going to be too sweet, but as the flavors began to blend and cook a little bit I realized I was wrong. I wouldn't change a thing. My husband especially liked the flavors. We’ll save this in our tried and true cookbook. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Excellent recipe! Will definately do again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This potato salad is quite good. My only complaint is that the sauce did not go far enough. I'll double it next time. We had these with barbequed ribs -- quite good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Sweet tasting. A great aternative to traditional potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Awsome and simple. Made it with red bliss from the farmers market. No changes needed. It was a big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe, just a little sweet for my taste. I have been looking for a good German potato salad recipe, and I will definitely make this one again. I will just cut back on the sugar a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
this potato salad tasted amazing. I used a suggestion from another reviewer and used just a little olive oil and some Jarred real bacon pieces, but it still turned out fantastic. My husband didnt like that it was warm, but he ate every bit of it for leftovers straight from the fridge. I am Very impressed with this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was excellent! My family loved it and I definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakerton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My "authentic" recipe calls for a teaspoon of celery seed, it adds a nice texture...this is my favorite potato salad. You can use the same bacon/onion/vinegar/sugar sauce for spinach or bibb lettuce -- pour the sauce while hot over the greens to create a fabulous "wilted lettuce" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States