Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! I decided to try it instead of the usual mayonnaise based recipe that I use for family gatherings. My family loved it and everyone has requested the recipe. There was not a drop left, even though I quadrupled the recipe! I will definitely be making this again and again. I used red potatoes so I left the skins on and I used apple cider vinegar because I like the flavor. Otherwise, exactly like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Best potato salad I have ever made. Husband and daughter loved it. So easy. Used only 2 pcs of bacon and added them while everything was in the frying pan, so the bacon didn't have the crunch; but hubby has congestive heart failure so the bacon needs to be less than most recipes. He asked me to make it again and told me what he might also want to have it with. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Have made this particular type of potato salad several times for holidays and special occasions for those who don't care for the mayonnaise based potato salad. The only substitution I used was cider vinegar instead of white and baby gold potatoes .. This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Don't over cook potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am going to skip cooking the onion in bacon grease next time but otherwise this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karli Flom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I just made this for the first time. As some suggested, I cut the sugar and used apple cider vinegar. It is amazing! My problem is trying not to eat it before dinner! I don't usually like potato salad but I sure do now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I thought it was kind of boring. Its edible...but I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was wonderful!!! But if I make it again I wonder about using pre-cooked bacon. Could anybody guess how much oil I would use in place of the bacon drippings? (No! of course it won't be as good but maybe healthier???)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this! I doubled the recipe & had leftovers that disappeared way too fast! I'm going to make this again for Fathers Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Quite easy to make and very good. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe very closely but cooking in bacon grease just scares me a bit too much. So now I just make it with olive oil. I add a little bit of the store bought bacon bits at the end though. When I made it exactly as written, it was good. My hubby liked it a lot, too but he likes it saucy so now I just add more sugar/vinegar mixture. No exact measurement(probably kinda like double or triple the recipe and then adjust a bit to my like). The result has been very good and I don't have to feel so bad since I don't cook in bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States