Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made the recipe almost exactly as written (I reduced the sugar because i was concerned about it being too sweet) but this potato salad recipe was very bland and somewhat greasy. It really needs something. Other reviewers have mentioned adding dill, I think that would help. And next time I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, maybe omit it all together and use olive oil to fry the onions. Even though I like all the ingredients in this recipe, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made this for my husband and me for dinner tonight. I attempted to halve the recipe and eventhough the vinegar was not to my liking, I will make this again using even less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I waa looking for a recipe that didnt use celery (i have none) when i found tjis one. It makes up super easy and has great flavor! I can't wait to see what my husband thinks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny bartolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never made this before but it was easy and turned out great! I happened to make bacon for breakfast and saved the drippings , so that was one less step I had to do later. I followed the recipe exactly, and just when it seemed a little too watery it just thickened right up! I would definitely make this again, but probably a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I'm giving it three stars because that is too much sugar. I will try it again without the sugar.BettieG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Add 1 T flour to bacon drippings to help thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! Just made it, even though I have to let it "set", the flavor now is perfect! (I added a green bell pepper, I wanted color & didn't have parsley, I used LESS than a TBSP of sugar, as I don't like sweet, & I used a good amount of dried oregano in place of parsley, added the seasonings while sautéing onion & pepper )...can't wait to try it several hours from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I made a few small adjustments, but it's just a matter of taste. I lowered the sugar and raised the vinegar by a little. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika and dill weed, and an 1/8 teaspoon powdered mustard. These small adjustments are worth a try, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe with just a few alterations to serve with Root Beer Pulled Pork Sliders. First of all, anything that has bacon in it is likely to be delicious! Upon sautéing the onions in the rendered bacon fat, I sprinkled white pepper, paprika, and ground garlic pepper seasoning onto them. When it came time to add the vinegar I opted for White Champagne Vinegar (mainly because I rarely use it.) I also added a cube of chicken bouillon to the vinegar/water mixture and took previous reviewers suggestions to scale the sugar down to 1 tablespoon. I believe this recipe would be wonderful as written, but thoroughly enjoyed my variation upon it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States