Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
While the potatoes were a bit mushy the flavor was incredible. Next time I'll try a bit less than 10 minutes for the boil time. Either way, 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I can't do eggs. I found this to be a terrific alternative to the usual mayo dressing salads. This was part of a summer night salad platter I threw together for an impromptu gathering. No trip to the store for me. I was able to source the ingredients from a sorry looking refrigerator. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
As our readers suggested, I doubled the sauce. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The recipe doesn't say what kind of potato to use. I used yellow boiled whole then peeled and diced when easy to handle. My onion was red but yellow would have been more flavorful. We've never had this before so we have nothing to compare it to. We loved it. Mine was over the top with just a very light sprinkle of dried thyme from my garden. ( Left out the salt and didn't miss it )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
it was ok, but i cannot eat pork, so i didn't add any bacon. I think the lack of meat is what made me not like it. Im sure if i had some meat, it would be 5 stars. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe! And best: no flour in the dressing. So many recipes call for flour which is unnecessary because the starch from the potatoes thickens the dressing. I do add two cut up hard-boiled eggs per my German husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Absolutely looove this recipe! I've cooked this before and have had rave reviews from husband and guests/ friends.. Authentic or not? It's a hit! I lived in Germany for a few years, long enough to get a taste of their customs.. and I truly can't say whether it's authentic or not... While in Germany it was really good.. Living in the U.S.A. it's really good.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have been eating and making German potato sale for most of my life. This is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was an amazing potato salad recipe! As many other reviewers have stated, I added about 3/4 tsp celery seed. I made a large amount for a picnic (a whole 5# bag of potatoes!) and there was just enough left afterward for me to add to my lunch the next day. This is a safe recipe for a picnic since it doesn't contain cheese or mayo, and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Devoured by everyone at the cookout! Will definitely make this a staple at all of our upcoming events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States