Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I love the contrast of the vinegar and the sugar. Regular potato salads , the ones made with mayones make my stomach fell heavy and I just don't fell good after eating it but, this potato salad is even refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
great potato salad..I usggest you use less sugar, and more bacon, and cut the potato cubes a little larger size when cold and nuke'em for 1 min. 30 sec. in the microwave (this prevents them from falling apart and cooks them thoroughly w/ no guess work)...all your guests will marvel how you got perfect cubes that were cooked thoroughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjwintl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very easy to make! I cut up the bacon before I fry it seems faster to me. Good flavor and not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It is too sweet for a patato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
"Authentic" or not, this turned out awesome and was a big hit with all at Easter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called for. I was hesitant about changing anything, because some reviews said too sweet while others said too sour. The flavor is perfect! Not too sweet, not too vinegary. I'll definitely make it again but will add a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. It is so delicious, and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
SO SO GOOD! Used this for my 3rd grader's Int'l Fest. It was a hit. Many people asked me for the recipe, German relatives approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I remember my grandmother always making German potato salad for me for all the cook outs (hate mayo based salads). I wanted to make my own and chose this recipe. I can't say it is better then my grandmothers use to be, but I have yet to serve this and not have it loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is about as close as it gets to what I consider a real hot German Potato salad. Years ago I had a recipe book with a similar recipe but it wanted you to add two medium soft boiled eggs. The yolk would be just set. I loved it with the bacon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Tastey and easy to make. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States