Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe that my Grandmother Edna taught me. She would "cut" up the bacon into bits with kitchen shears, and fry til brown with the onions. To this she would add 2 tab of plain flour to make the rue and then add the sugar, salt, water and vinegar. I leave out the pepper due to allergies, but substitue sweet basil in its place. Once the "gravy" has thickened we pour it over the cooled taters and stir gently. Sometimes we garnish with boiled egg slices, but like the recipe that's posted, ours doesn't last long either. I've also used brown sugar when white wasn't available, worked out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I love the contrast of the vinegar and the sugar. Regular potato salads , the ones made with mayones make my stomach fell heavy and I just don't fell good after eating it but, this potato salad is even refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
great potato salad..I usggest you use less sugar, and more bacon, and cut the potato cubes a little larger size when cold and nuke'em for 1 min. 30 sec. in the microwave (this prevents them from falling apart and cooks them thoroughly w/ no guess work)...all your guests will marvel how you got perfect cubes that were cooked thoroughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjwintl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very easy to make! I cut up the bacon before I fry it seems faster to me. Good flavor and not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It is too sweet for a patato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
"Authentic" or not, this turned out awesome and was a big hit with all at Easter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called for. I was hesitant about changing anything, because some reviews said too sweet while others said too sour. The flavor is perfect! Not too sweet, not too vinegary. I'll definitely make it again but will add a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. It is so delicious, and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
SO SO GOOD! Used this for my 3rd grader's Int'l Fest. It was a hit. Many people asked me for the recipe, German relatives approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I remember my grandmother always making German potato salad for me for all the cook outs (hate mayo based salads). I wanted to make my own and chose this recipe. I can't say it is better then my grandmothers use to be, but I have yet to serve this and not have it loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is about as close as it gets to what I consider a real hot German Potato salad. Years ago I had a recipe book with a similar recipe but it wanted you to add two medium soft boiled eggs. The yolk would be just set. I loved it with the bacon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States