Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was wonderful!!! But if I make it again I wonder about using pre-cooked bacon. Could anybody guess how much oil I would use in place of the bacon drippings? (No! of course it won't be as good but maybe healthier???)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this! I doubled the recipe & had leftovers that disappeared way too fast! I'm going to make this again for Fathers Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Quite easy to make and very good. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe very closely but cooking in bacon grease just scares me a bit too much. So now I just make it with olive oil. I add a little bit of the store bought bacon bits at the end though. When I made it exactly as written, it was good. My hubby liked it a lot, too but he likes it saucy so now I just add more sugar/vinegar mixture. No exact measurement(probably kinda like double or triple the recipe and then adjust a bit to my like). The result has been very good and I don't have to feel so bad since I don't cook in bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
OK, let me say how impressed I am. I lived in Austria and Germany for several years, and have eaten kilo afer kilo of this culinary delight. The dressing was absolutely what we ate there. Es war halt fantatisch! My one critique was how the potatoes were prepared. Most of the potato salads I had in OS and DE boiled the potatoes whole for 11-15 minutes. They would then let them cool, then peel and sliced thin into discs. The slightly cooled discs were then added to the hot dressing. I prefer the mouthfeel of the slices potatoes rather then cubing them, and I felt like boiling them precut they were a tiny bit overcooked. Having said that, this was an amazing recipe, which is why I gave it five stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I cut back on the amount of sugar. I was doubling the recipe, but stopped at 5 T sugar (instead of 6). It is still too sweet. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. We did not peel the (red) potatoes. Since the potatoes soak up the sauce, I will double the sauce next time which is more typical of a true German potato salad. We also served it cold and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
First time I tried this recipe, amazing. My kids loved it and thats all that counts to a single dad. Added more water though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I have made this using the method my great aunt Bertha Schunender taught me. She would either slice the potatoes or dice them. She also pointed out to me that there are many different versions. I have also tried a version that my wife's uncle Dieter made for us and it was also quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Many many years ago, while married to my ex-Husband who's step Mother came here with her Army Husband, from Germany, made this every time we came over to eat. Me being really really young (17), I had an attitude about "Mother-in-laws" & I would NOT admit that I liked her German Potato Salad, so, I never asked her for the recipe... To ANYTHING she made. How stupid I was. And here after 34 years, here is her recipe!! I was used to Miracle Whip, egg, mustard etc potato salad & I always hated potato salad. Her German Potato Salad took me a while to get used to, but I DID learn to love her GPS. Now, after all my years on "Allrecipes" is the GPS My ex-Mother-in-law made. I am going to make this & take it to her house & say "Thank you" for all the patients she used with my stupid arse!! She really was good to me, in spite of my nasty attitude. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I am German, born and raised, German citizen, and there are many different ways to make German potato salad. There is no "we do it this way". For example, I make mine with Miracle Whip. Very authentic German, seeing as I am German and made this for many years before moving to the US when I was 24. There is no one way to make a German potato salad. Not to mention that different regions have different ways of doing things. Now go make this potato salad and enjoy it. :) Who cares what it's called, as long as it tastes good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States