Authentic German Bread (Bauernbrot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Spatzle
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Just got done making this bread and it was amazing! I made it for my German wife and she said it reminded her of Germany. I flowed the recipe exactly and only putting Pumpkin seeds inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Ready for the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I have actually made this recipe several times. I have made it as is, and have made a significant change. The five out of five stars is for the recipe as is. But I will still give my "tweak". This recipe worked perfectly. For those who have complained about it being flat, there are a few reasons. One is your yeast may be dead. Second, bear in mind that when she says 1-2 hours or until doubled in size, it is the size that matters more than the time. It might take longer, so just go with it. I used an existing starter, and the initial rise in my kitchen takes 18 hours. Really. So, please wait until it is doubled, rather than giving it exactly 2 hours. Now, for my tweak, I have a sourdough starter that is about six months old. I basically skipped steps 1 and 2, and went straight to step three, mixing a quart of existing starter with the flour from that point on. It was much much tangier, and slightly denser. Both recipes work, though. Guten Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just like back home on the rine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe made wonderful bread. I love the flavor! Next time I will bake in cocktail bread pan and adjust the baking time. Thank you for sharing really authentic German bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farideh
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I think water is very little, I couldn't make starter with that and add some more watter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Hello; I have not tried this recipe yet, but it sounds great. What i would like to know is if / how this could be done in a cast iron dutch oven. Looking forward to replies and any help i can get...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascoag, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrin
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I too have been on a quest to find good German bread here in the US. I have been to specialty stores, international food stores but none of them had the bread I was looking for. It was close sometimes but it was not what I was used to from Germany. So I tried this recipe. I have to admit I was a little bit scared since it was the first time making bread for me. Also the huge amount scared me a little too since I didn't want to throw everything away should it go wrong. So I only took a quarter of the amounts stated above, also because no one else will eat the bread since my husband is a soft white bread lover. I was not sure about the texture of the dough either but I just kept going according to the recipe and I have to say it turned out wonderful. I had to cut off a slice before it was even cool. The crust was so delicious. When the dough got too stiff while kneading I just wet my hands. That was enough to soften it up again. I also put a bunch of sunflower seeds in it since I always loved grains in bread. I also used highly active dry yeast because I couldn't find any fresh yeast. Used the conversion that one of the users suggested in the reviews. Next time I will try and bake it in a loaf pan. I already used it to shape the bread and my mom always baked bread in one of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I too have been on a quest to find the most authentic German Bauernbrot recipe. The picture looks perfect. I halved the recipe like some have done and used my own sourdough. I will have to say it turned out pretty badly. Heavy as a rock, way too sour,did not rise well. I ate half a piece and threw the rest away. That being said, since the overwhelming majority of reviewers think this bread is authentic and wonderful, I will give it another try. I will blame the flub on me, not on the recipe. I have a question: if I use my own starter, what is the recommended amount to use? The recipe doesn't indicate how much starter is being used. I used 2 cups for half the recipe. One cup might have been enough? Also, the dough was so heavy and dry I could hardly knead it. I ended up adding the amount of water for the whole recipe, even though I cut the flour in half. Is the dough supposed to be so stiff? Any suggestions from those who had success with this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My loafs came out huge and tasted great when they were still a bit warm. The next day there was nothing impressive about them and you could only eat it after toasting it. Next time I will either cut the recipe in half or make 4 loafs so that are eaten the first day they are made or given away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States