Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are beautiful cookies. I forgot to butter my parchment and they stuck, but the texture was great. I would like to try with some flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe!! I added a little almond extract and loved it even more!! Just one question though, is it possible to keep the meringues white instead of getting lightly browned while baking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Twinky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Awesome! I am so pleased with myself that I actually made meringues. :) My first batch didn't turn out great, so I went back and read reviews and discovered that I was supposed to beat the whites much longer than I did. So I tried again, beat them for ten minutes, and they turned out perfect. They were done 15-20 minutes sooner than the recipe said, but thankfully I checked them. Later Edit: Too much sugar. They tasted like sugar instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Confectioners suger contains some cornstarch, which will contribute to the stability of the meringues. If you substitute regular sugar, you should add a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end, along with any flavoring or food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I really don't like giving poor ratings and reviews, but I felt like I needed to give a heads-up to people who might be considering using this recipe. I don't understand all the great reviews and wonderful results people supposedly got with this recipe. My meringue NEVER got past the stage where it looked like melted marshmallow creme. I let it whip in my Kitchenaid for about 15 minutes and watched it the entire time, so I know I didn't "over-beat" it. I added the sugar about 2 Tbs at a time, letting each addition fully blend in before adding more. There was no way I could pipe this into anything but a puddle on the baking sheet, so I ended up using the "Peppermint Meringues" recipe instead, omitting the crushed candy canes. That recipe has cream of tartar in it, which I think really is necessary for getting the meringue nice and stiff (every lemon meringue pie recipe I've ever made called for cream of tartar in the meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a great recipe super easy. I piped the meringues out in the shape of a ghost and added eyes and a nose with frosting. Too cute for a holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I closed my oven door and only cooked them for 2 hours and they turned out great. Next time I will try them with mint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've made better....these were too hard and didn't have the same soft melt in your mouth taste as other's I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Tips for those who are having problems with these falling flat: meringues are very delicate and almost anything can go wrong with them. It is possible that you are either under-whipping them, or whipping them too much. If you over-whip something, you can make it fall flat by whipping the air back out of it. Conversely, if you don't have enough air it won't stay tall. A few tips on meringues: *If you have ANY egg yolk, throw it out and start over. It will ruin the structure of the meringue. *Before you add the sugar it's better to be safe than sorry; make sure that your meringue is stiff at the very least, and I prefer to whip mine just before there are stiff peaks forming. (To test this, take a utensil and stick it in the mixture, then draw it out forming a little peak or tail; if it sticks up, it is a stiff peak, if it droops over you may want to consider whipping it more.) *You can also tell how stiff the mixture is by whether the mixture fills itself back out if you part it in the middle. Your mixture should separate and stay separate. *You do not want to have glossy peaks before you add the sugar. You have a greater potential to ruin it if you get to the shiny/satin stage before you add anything. *Oils will ruin the mixture, so be careful if adding flavorants or colors. *Add the sugar VERY slowly. So slowly it hurts. Never dump anything you add, including flavors. *Lift the tip of the pastry bag up and away when piping, don't smash it down in! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
HELP!? I tried to make these 3 times in a row and each time they were more like icing and not "puffy." They look more like little pancakes on the baking sheet. Am I not beating enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidipetcher

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States