Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are the best! The confectioner's sugar is really the key, IMO. Remember, room temp egg whites whip up fluffy. My oven runs hot so I turned the temp to 175 degrees and let them cook for three hours, well, kind of, I kept sneaking one here and there just to test, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheKook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is a no fail recipe. As a chef, I'll give some tips for any beginners out there. Take a papertowel and about 1 tsp of white distilled vinegar and wipe your stainless bowl with it. This makes sure there are no oils that will interfere with your egg whites. Further, I always add about 1/2 tsp of baking powder. It doesn't change the taste and it makes the whites stiffen up quickly, especially if you don't have time to let the egg whites come completely to room temp. After the egg whites were completely stiff, I added a dash of cinnamon and butter extract. I topped them with mini-morsels and made them smaller so that they cook faster. Hope this helps! Great recipe and super tasty meringues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Ive never had meringue cookies before! So easy to make. They just melt in your mouth. Did some with cocoa powder and almond extact. It was a good variety. Thank you for the recipe. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Mine did not set up but I read a few other websites and think I did a few missteps that caused it. You can't get even the slightest hint of yolk in it and I had a tiny bit. It is also best to let the eggs sit out at room temp for 30 minutes or so before making it. Instead I am currently baking meringuesque puddles, but I liked the flavor so hopefully I can try again minus my mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
i thought these were very simple and very good. i made them a bit small so they didn't but half the time to cook but that was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was extremely easy. After reading a lot of the reviews, I planned to beat the egg whites for at LEAST twenty minutes.... don't even think about less time. The meringues were flavourful, but really sweet (for me- and I love sweets). I plan to cut the sugar to maybe 1-1/4 cups and add chocolate chips next time. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these tonite and they are melt-in-your-mouth. Made them a little larger than i usually would as they are going to be the tops of mushrooms for the Yule Log. Smaller, pop in your mouth size would be a better size, i imagine. Instead of using a pastry bag i dropped them by regular size spoonfuls (table spoon, not Tbs.) Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These meringues are fantastic- light, crunchy, perfect! I scraped 1/2 of a vanilla bean into the egg at the same time I added the sugar. I folded in 3 crushed candy canes before piping and then sprinkled them with more candy cane. The result was great! I will make them every Christmas, I am sure. FWIW, I did some tests with freezing them and had success. I put them in a ziploc bag and then into a plastic container and froze them. To thaw, just set the whole thing out at room-temp and DO NOT OPEN either container until the entire thing is room temp. The meringues should be just as good as when you made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were melt in your mouth good. I did two modification to the original recipe. I added one vanilla bean (about 4 inches long) and one cup of toasted coconut flakes. Added the vanilla when it reached soft peaks and then folded the coconut in. Unfortunately, the coconut clogged my piping tip, so piped them without the tip. My husband loved the melt in your mouth and then chewy coconut. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are beautiful cookies. I forgot to butter my parchment and they stuck, but the texture was great. I would like to try with some flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States