Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Didn't think to include how many meringues it makes! I have 10 cookbooks all with this exact recipe.. none of them helpful in telling me how many meringues I'm making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I was so sad. I've made meringue cookies before and they are always so good. These didn't turn out. They never got stiff when I was mixing them. I followed the advice of some others and added a little cream of tartar and they finally got stiff but when I baked them they turned into hard little flavorless disks of chalk. I followed everything to a T, I just don't understand what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is one of the first recipes I've ever learned since it's easy, doesn't require a lot of ingredients, and yummy to eat. For those who have problems with the meringue firming up, it's because it hasn't been beaten enough. Though for some people it may happen after 15 minutes, depending on what you use and what you put into the meringue, it can take even longer, I know mine went to around 20-30 minutes when I was making pavlova. You'll know when it's ready when it starts forming stiff peaks. If the 15 minute mark has passed and it's still soupy, keep beating. Over beating is probably better than under beating it. For a crisp outside, you actually don't need that much sugar. Halving the amount can also make a good meringue. It's also important to -not- have any of the yolk in the whites. Otherwise, they won't rise properly. The most important things in making meringues is 1. patience and 2. following all the steps. If the meringues burn, then it's because you have the oven too hot or you made them too small. If they're too big, they'll crack as they cool. If the meringues come out soft, then it's probably because the sugar content is too low to form a crisp crust. If you find them tasteless, you can add flavoring, like vanilla extract or lemon zest. I feel like most of the reasons why people gave bad reviews was because they aren't patient enough to wait until the egg whites become stiff and satiny (15 minutes +) or they had residual egg yolk in the whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Great recipe! Didn't pipe it though. I also halved the recipe. Work out great! I also added vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe was a disaster. It fails to accurately describe the state the whites should be in before you add the sugar. 'Foamy' is inaccurate and led to a waste of my eggs and time. The whites should be whipped until they form stiff peaks. Otherwise you end up with a runny mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
My first go at this recipe wasn't good. I did research on the best way to beat egg whites. I had my stainless steel bowl, room temp egg whites.. making sure nothing was in them. The only thing that may have happened is that maybe I started adding the sugar too soon? The directions say to add it after they get foamy.. which I DID. But my egg whites never got stiff. It looked like runny marshmallow fluff. Maybe I should have waited till the egg whites were stiff before I started adding it???? Idk! I hate wasting ingredients so I puddled it on a pan and shoved it in the oven! We will see what happens.... -_-. I may try again, but add the sugar AFTER the egg whites have peaked. Wish the recipe would clarify that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy recipe, I think the person who had a problem with it may have had moisture in the bowl or even had a small amount of egg yolk which will spoil the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
First time making them. The taste is just sugar, a lot of sugar. Next time I will flavor them with something. There are a lot of good suggestions in the comments. I baked mine @ 185 with the door closed for 3 hrs. I use a silicone baking mat instead of parchment paper and they came right off, no sticking. Can't wait to try them with flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
For a person who knows nothing about meringues, these came out great! At first I thought I added the sugar too early but after a while with the sugar whipping, I decides to pipe them anyway and they came out perfect. Ferm and the perfect texture! I will definitely make them again! Making them for valentines day, I hope everyone loves them! Great gifts! Thanks for the recipe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryberry:)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I know I'm in the minority with this low rating but I hated the taste. Perhaps it was the confectioners sugar because most all other meringue recipes calls for regular white sugar and they taste much better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States