Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These turned out perfect!! I followed the directions from others to use room temp egg whites. I beat them on high for 15 minutes and then added the sugar slowly. Life these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I also made sure to clean everything hot and soapy so not a speck of oil anywhere, I am an experienced meringue maker. Thought I would try a different recipe. This did not get past marshmallowy looking stage, piped it anyway, into little puddles of goo. Sticking with tried and true recipe from now on. Just sorry I used the last four eggs on it. Now I need to go get more eggs to make a recipe that will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Never had an issue with this recipe! It is a hard, cookie like meringue and they always turn out great. You can add food colouring and flavours to mix it up! For Xmas I like strips of red colour and peppermint flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These are perfect. Better than the ones I had in Italy. Hint: never use a plastic bowl when whipping whites it can hold oils that interfere with the whipping. I tried the spoon idea and my oven shut off so had to bake at 185 and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I've done the others have suggested: Eggs at room temp, clean bowl with vinegar wipe, added 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and 1 tsp flavoring, but if you do this, up the sugar 1/2 c. Warning, be careful how much mint flavoring, I added too much once and they made our eyes water... they were good, just STRONG ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I used this recipe for my first ever attempt at meringues and it was fantastic! My only mistake was adding the sugar too early. If you're a first timer, I recommend watching the short video that shows how these are made first. I also agree with all of the comments that you have to beat the mixture a LONG time before you get stiff peaks. During the last hour of baking, I checked two or three times to remove any meringues that lifted easily off the baking sheets as mine were not even in size. I will definitely make this recipe again - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Amazing meringues! Presentation and taste was wonderful I would definetly recommend this recipe. Note: Mix to THICK consistency. Don't judge it by time make sure its thick. Otherwise you'l get flat white shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
the slow bake method on really low heat is what sets this apart from other failed recipes i've tried. it's crisp all the way through, just like its supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Didn't think to include how many meringues it makes! I have 10 cookbooks all with this exact recipe.. none of them helpful in telling me how many meringues I'm making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I was so sad. I've made meringue cookies before and they are always so good. These didn't turn out. They never got stiff when I was mixing them. I followed the advice of some others and added a little cream of tartar and they finally got stiff but when I baked them they turned into hard little flavorless disks of chalk. I followed everything to a T, I just don't understand what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States