Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
amazing eaten very quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These come out beautiful. I used convection at 175 and they were done in an hour. Crisp outside and slightly gooey inside. However, only giving 4 stars as I could tell they were made with confectioners sugar. Using a superfine sugar is probably a good fix, so I will source a recipe without the confection sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly93
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a hit at my family Christmas dinner but personally I think it would taste better with normal sugar rather than confectioners. It was just too sweet for me. Otherwise good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemonbomb
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Try it with a hint of peppermint (1/2 tsp), vanilla (1 tsp) and lemon (1/2 tsp). Plus add 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar to make up for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Bachman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out PERFECT!!! Only thing Was that instead of 3 hours they were done at 1 hour and 45 minutes at 200 degrees. You could tap them with a knife and they will sound like porcelain. Delicious, crunchy and not TOO sweet just PERFECT. I do need to improve the technique since they look a bit exploded, but for a first timer and using a hand mixer they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The recipe is fine, but they left out CREAM OF TARTER, not sure why they did that, but without it i think 1/4 teaspoon would be fine, may be wrong. It won't set up like it should..... the recipe they have is for marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I added about a third tsp of cream of tarter to help with stability, and I cut the sugar back by a third. Perfect technique description! They needed a bit longer to bake, but that could be my oven. I left them in to cool overnight, and lovely. Next time a drop of lemon extract. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sietske “Terrorsaurus” Barnes
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Every single time I've made this recipe it's been perfect! Just a heads up, the bowl you use to beat the whites up has to be absolutely clean and dry and there can't be even a speck of yolk in the whites or they won't beat up properly. I even cut the recipe in half and it still works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sietske “Terrorsaurus” Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Tried today for the first time on a humid slightly showery day in Seattle, and it is so simple I can't see why anyone would have a problem. Just beat the whites until stiff before you add the sugar, a little at a time, add a spot of vanilla extract along the way, and dollop them onto parchment-covered cookie sheet. I just dolloped them because I like them that way, and my husband who doesn't like the store-bought ones came back for more, so what can you say? I baked them long enough to get a little carmel-y effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States