Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Great recipe. I added a touch of clear vanilla and 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar. Meringues were perfect, light, crispy but not hard. I'm going to try using this recipe for individual pavlovas with a little raspberry flavouring and lots of fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
These are really beautiful cookies. My first batch I followed the recipe exactly and the bottoms of the cookies turned brown and they exploded a little bit. They did taste pretty good, a little like cotton candy.The second batch I made turned out better. I turned my oven as low as it could go (170 F) and none of the cookies exploded or turned brown. I flavored these with watermelon flavoring oil and dyed them pink. My kids just gobbled them up (and my husband loved them too!) I did use egg whites that I set out on the counter for a day covered with a paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I had an extremely hard time getting the right consistency of meringue before baking. When I thought the texture was right, I baked them. My oven only took two hours and the cookies were rock hard. I guess I used too much sugar, but I would have had flat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My wife first tried these 2 weeks ago, in Nice. She tried making them at home; the first batch were wonderful, the second would not stiffen enough. When we retraced her steps, the variable was in the extract used. In the first batch, she added the extract to the egg whites, and let them sit for 2 hours. When she made her third batch, presto! It's the propylene glycol in the extracts that does the trick....but, make sure you add the extract BEFORE you whip the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
For the reviewer that gave 1 star, it sounds like you are using packaged egg whites from a carton and not fresh egg whites. I have never been able to get the carton whites to whip correctly. You should try with actual whites and see if you have the same trouble, and use parchment paper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I wanted to try out my new-to-me KitchenAid stand mixer and the whisk attachment thingie, so I tried this recipe. After reading some of the previous comments, I knew I should check everything as I went along and not just follow the original recipe, and that turned out to be right for me. My mixer had the egg whites at stiff peak in only 6 minutes (room temp egg whites in room temp metal mixing bowl). I wanted to add 1 tsp of vanilla so I had measured out 2-1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I only used maybe 2/3 of a cup. I just spooned the mixture onto an airbake cookie pan lined with parchment paper, set the oven to 250 and baked the meringues for 45 minutes. Perfection! I do live in Arizona, and it is very dry here now, so maybe that's why my experience was very different from others. Overall, recipe was a good jumping off point for this novice. I'll try this recipe again, with my variations, and use different flavorings and baking times/temps to see which I end up liking best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Thanks for all the suggestions in the ratings. I love meringues, and have never been able to bake them successfully before. This works. I agree with waiting a while to add the confectioner's sugar. I added mine a bit too early, (when foamy, not stiff) and I had to beat for 30 minutes before I could pipe them onto the cookie sheet. My "room temperature" also happened to be about 55 degrees F. Parchment paper works. I used a baking method that I had heard of: I warmed the oven up to 200 degrees F, baked about 10 minutes with the door closed, turned off the oven, and went to bed. The smaller ones were done perfectly; the larger ones were softer in the middle than I wanted, so I turned the oven back on to 200 for about 10 minutes, turned it off again and taste-tested until they were perfect. Thank you to RandyVH and the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian N
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time last night and for some reason they did not turn out as expected. I added a photo of what the final product looks like. Can someone please give me some insight as to what error I made?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
amazing eaten very quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These come out beautiful. I used convection at 175 and they were done in an hour. Crisp outside and slightly gooey inside. However, only giving 4 stars as I could tell they were made with confectioners sugar. Using a superfine sugar is probably a good fix, so I will source a recipe without the confection sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States