Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made for a birthday party, in three color - flavor combinations: green mint, yellow lemon, and white vanilla. I had 5 egg whites, so I adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Prepared the recipe then divided it and colored and flavored it. Piped the cookies with a star tip into 1.5" to 2" cookies on parchment. Made about 100 cookies. Green and yellow did not pipe as well, no doubt due to additional liquid from the flavoring. Not sure how to fix that but may add additional sugar to batches I intend to color / flavor. The few leftovers stored well in airtight container at room temperature for several weeks - until I remembered they were there. Then gone! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe two times and both did not work i followd the directions and did more reserch and found out not to use an electric beater but just a hand one. But the recipe itself is great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe. I have made these three times now and the family loves them. For variation, I have added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and to account for the 7000 ft in elvation for our home, I have added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. This recipe works every time. The last time I made these, I did reduce the amount of sugar to 2 cups and I think I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I brought these to a French themed pot-luck and everyone thought I'd bought them!!! Even meringues haters like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I'm not really clear on the consistency of the finished product after beating and adding the sugar but mine came out like marshmellow cream. I was still able to pipe them onto a cookie sheet and they held their form well. I baked at 250 for 90 min and they came out perfect after letting them cool in the oven with door slightly open. But boy were they sweet! They had that strong powdered sugar taste even though I had folded 1 tsp coconut extract into the batter and dusted them with cocoa powder prior to baking. I really couldn't even taste the coconut flavor over the powdered sugar taste. Maybe I will try it with less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Turned out great! However, make sure you check periodically. I waited to check them until they'd been in for 2 hours, and they were more 'done' than I like (I prefer a chewy center). I have an oven thermometer and I propped the door, so I'm pretty sure the temp was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I am not a meringue fan, but I had a lot of egg whites, so I tried out this recipe, and the meringues did turn out perfect. My only suggestion is not to add peppermint extract, because you end up feeling like you're eating dried toothpaste. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I still don't like meringues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kKallberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe has worked wonderfully every time I've made it. It's a great favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! I didn't want to make quite that many, so I used 3 egg whites and 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar. I also added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. I think my oven runs a little cold, so I set it to 200 and baked them for 2 hours, then turned it off and left them in the oven to cool for another hour. They turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made these for my fiance who had never had meringues before, and they turned out great! You have to whip the egg whites and sugar for a long time, though, but it's worth it. Next time I'll try it with a touch of vanilla extract and nutmeg and see how that turns out. I didn't have a pastry bag, but I just cut an opening on a plastic sandwich bag and it worked great. These go great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States