Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
great recipe,, easy cheap!! turned out perfect, only i kept them in the oven for 2 hours verse the three the suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This didn't work at all for me. maybe I didn't beat the whites long enough or too long, but once I placed it on the cookie sheet they lost their form and look like flats pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
the minimum temperature on my oven is 110C, so i just left them in for 2 hours and opened the oven door once in a while to bring the temperature down. they turned out great, except that the tops are slightly sticky, so perhaps i should have left them in a bit longer. simple and easy recipe to follow, and the results look nice and professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
At first, I had a similar problem to one of the other reviewers, my mixture was goopy and fell the minute I tried to pipe it onto a tray. I got much better results when I made sure the eggs were a nice pillowy foam before adding sugar. Then, when the sugar was being added, to whip on a higher speed than the recipe recommends. I also found that using just a pinch of salt (the grains help to create more bubbles) and cream of tartar for its lecithin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
First time ever making these and they came out great. Just added a little vanilla for more flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe worked out well with the help of my stand mixer. I added a touch of mint oil and crushed peppermint candy on top. The only difference I experienced was the baking time. I live in the humid, wet Northwest and it took almost four hours for the meringues to dry completely in the oven. Using the spoon in the door helped keep the cookies from getting brown. They were beautiful and are great for a low carb diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully, and helped me regain my faith in meringues! I added 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar because I've had bad meringue experiences in the past and feared the worst. But even on a rainy day, the ingredients and technique of this recipe turned out absolutely perfect - light, fluffy, barely any cracks. With a wooden spoon in the door, they still barely needed to bake for two hours before being cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
My mom use to buy these when I was a kid and I was happy to find out I could make them. I use white sugar in these from now on though, the first time I made these with powdered sugar they were a little too crunchy and sweet tasting. Oh and rainy days do actually effect these I have found out so make on a decent-ish day. If you don't have a copper bowl use a little over 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar after they start to foam IT MAKES A HUGE DIFFERENCE!! I add vanilla in mine. OH, and I don't like the idea of having a spoon hold open my oven (that's actually bad for it) so I turn the heat up a bit and cook them for an hour and they turn out great! For Halloween I made these orange and drizzle semi-sweet melted chocolate over them, they looked great and taste really good! I have made these a lot, they are so easy and good to make when you run out of ingredients but want something sweet. You can pop a lot of these babies onto one baking pan, I like that. I even halved the recipe and made loads. They go quick around here. I LOVE THESE! You don't feel bad about eating a bunch either, just tell yourself they are essentially air, but really good air. And HEY THESE ARE CHEEP TO MAKE! Go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul-Sauce
Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I had no issues at all..My egg whites whipped up in about 5 minutes, using an electric hand mixer. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups only and added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar while whipping the egg whites. Also, I took some advice from previous users by wiping my bowl and beaters with vinegar (allowing to fully dry) before whipping the egg whites. I cooked the cookies in a gas oven at 200F, for the whole 3 hrs; with the wooden spoon proped in the door. Even though I did not use parchment paper, my cookies did not stick to the pan, as I used the suggested butter and flour on the cookie sheet. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Light, crisp, and sweet. Perfect meringues. Mine got a little too hot and "bubbled out" a little, so I think I'll turn the temp down to 185, as suggested by another reviewer. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States