Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very nice. Exactly the same as those expensive boxed meringues. I did exactly what Allison125's review indicated- I beat the eggs and sugar for a loooong time. I also added the seeds from a vanilla bean- my DH loved them. Also, I only baked mine at 200 for 2 hours with a wooden spoon handle cracking open the oven door. The center became completely crispy overnight. Thank you for this professional,impressive and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I make these every Pesach holiday. I add shaved chocolate bits in before baking. They are light and fluffy. Does take a long time till they get stiff, but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These turned out for me following all the advice - mainly about leaving them in the oven overnight. I know that the amount of sugar was recommended to not be changed- but this was a little too sweet for me, and I love sweet stuff. So I might try to change these next time to be more to my test, and also maybe add flavoring. But I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I used the recipe exactly as it was but set the oven at 185 degrees, like somebody else suggested. I made mine on the smallish side, which cut down the cooking time to only an hour and a half. These were absolutely delicious and I'll be making them again this weekend as a present!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
something is wrong with your recipe it would not set up with the powdered sugar i am using my recipe and its all right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I'm rating these a five because it is a great meringue recipe...if you like meringues. I only tried this recipe to use up egg whites that I had left over from making crepes in the morning. They turned out nice and shiny and everything you would want in a meringue, again...if you like meringues. *I broke up some of them with the flat side of a meat mallet and used them to top hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've made meringues using this recipe 3 times now. They always come out perfect! My rating is based off of the first 2 times I made them, which is by the exact directions. This third time, I did add a little cream of tartar because I feel like I was having a stiffening problem because of the vanilla extract I added. So the rating is based on the recipe, the review is to tell you how I made them better (of course; it wouldn't be allrecipes.com if someone wasn't putting their 2 cents in!) I eyeballed the ingredients I added, so don't take it too literally. I added: 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, 1/4 tsp cream of tartar, an extra 1-2 TBSP confectioner's sugar. Once I had stiff peaks, I folded in 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, and 8 miniature candy canes; crushed (add 2/3 of the candy canes to the mixture, save last 1/3 to sprinkle on top). Let me tell you: THESE are the best meringues I've ever had! But you may want to play with the cooking times and temp if you make it this way. Even leaving the oven door ajar, I had some that cracked... I think this way because of the candy canes--because they got so hot, they started bubbling. Bubbling candy canes look neat and are fun to pop.. but not very visually appealing on top of the cookie LOL. But, seriously, try it out. This version is going to be a definite repeat every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe comes out perfect everytime! It does take awhile to get the shiny firm peaks (almost 35-45 minutes in stand mixer) (just be careful the mixer doesnt over heat, and do not use a hand mixer because you will be there mixing forever!) and it helps alot if the egg whites are at room temp. Also I reccomend do not double recipe. The consistency does not work. So I just make seperate batches according to the recipe measurements. But this recipe is the best I've tried so far! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH! I LOVE ALLRECIPES SITE--THE BEST COOKS ARE HERE-REVIEWERS ALWAYS SOOO HELPFUL TOO. I MADE SEVERAL DIFFERENT RECIPES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON, USING REGULAR SUGER, WHICH TURNED OUT FINE..SO TESTED MY LUCK & TRIED THIS WITH THE CONFECTIONERS SUGAR. I FOUND IT DID TAKE FEW MORE MINUTES OF WHIPPING, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO MATTER. (I added flavoring to the sugar before mixing-worked fine) THESE WERE THE LIGHTEST AND JUST MELTED IN THE MOUTH..WHILE I STILL LIKE THE OTHERS-THIS IS THE REAL THING!!EVERYONE SHOULD GIVE IT A TRY. I ALSO LIVE IN VERY HIGH HUMIDITY AREA AND NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM. THANKS SO MUCH RANDY FOR SHARING %)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It took me three attempts to get this recipe right, and it was well worth it! They came out okay the first time, flat the 2nd and perfect the third. (so good the dog stole them off the counter!) Make sure you whip the egg whites until they are really foamy. (i think that is the key point) I added my extract to them at that time. I kept my mixer on top speed and moved it to medium only to add the sugar then kicked it back up and let it run for ten minutes. It should be about the consistency of whipped cream. Some of this info would be good to know in the recipe so we didn't have to experiment. But it was worth it. I still put the little flat ones in my cookie bags for x-mas as wafers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States