Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by minichef11
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
they tasted really good, but I only cooked them for an hour and half, and they were still flat and crunchy:( I dipped half of each one in chocolate, and added food coloring to some to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minichef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe is perfect. No changes needed but parchment paper makes the baking easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These are the best ever meringues,I zested one lemon and added it to the eggs whites before beating everything and they were the greatest I've ever had. Everyone raved them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These are great!!!! I love meringues and these are so much better than store-bought, no cream of tartar after-taste. I had a little trouble with the temperature of the oven, keeping the door ajar with a gas stove isn't really an option. I put the oven at about 175 and kept the door closed. There was some minor cracking but it was only cosmetic. The taste is fantastic, melt in your mouth with a little chewiness in the center. Use parchment paper for no cleanup and they peel right off. Also let the egg whites come to room temperature before beating and you shouldn't have any problem. I've made these twice now and I make them a little bigger and get about 15 meringues from this recipe and they don't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good, but would have been better with some type of flavoring - cocoa powder or almond extract or something. I will make these again the next time I have a recipe that just calls for the yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what went wrong. I followed the recipe to a t! Never got stiff, piped out round. I even tried adding more sugar to no avail. No pretty stars. Maybe they will be sutible for macroons, when they finish I hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These cookies were amazing. They came out very light and melted into a creamy texture in your mouth. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla while beating which improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These cookies remind me of the meringues that I was able to purchase at our neighborhood Publix in Florida. They are fairly easy to make and have become a favorite cookie of a friend's child who must eat gluten-free items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Wonderful! I added a little red food dye and some raspberry extract to mine. I don't like biting into meringues. I guess I'm strange but it always sounds kinda squeeky and gives me goose bumps. So I made mine the size of dimes. Took less than half the time to cook and after doing the math they're only about 2.45 calories a piece :D what a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States