Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Thanks for all the suggestions in the ratings. I love meringues, and have never been able to bake them successfully before. This works. I agree with waiting a while to add the confectioner's sugar. I added mine a bit too early, (when foamy, not stiff) and I had to beat for 30 minutes before I could pipe them onto the cookie sheet. My "room temperature" also happened to be about 55 degrees F. Parchment paper works. I used a baking method that I had heard of: I warmed the oven up to 200 degrees F, baked about 10 minutes with the door closed, turned off the oven, and went to bed. The smaller ones were done perfectly; the larger ones were softer in the middle than I wanted, so I turned the oven back on to 200 for about 10 minutes, turned it off again and taste-tested until they were perfect. Thank you to RandyVH and the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian N
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time last night and for some reason they did not turn out as expected. I added a photo of what the final product looks like. Can someone please give me some insight as to what error I made?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
amazing eaten very quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These come out beautiful. I used convection at 175 and they were done in an hour. Crisp outside and slightly gooey inside. However, only giving 4 stars as I could tell they were made with confectioners sugar. Using a superfine sugar is probably a good fix, so I will source a recipe without the confection sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly93
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a hit at my family Christmas dinner but personally I think it would taste better with normal sugar rather than confectioners. It was just too sweet for me. Otherwise good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemonbomb
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Try it with a hint of peppermint (1/2 tsp), vanilla (1 tsp) and lemon (1/2 tsp). Plus add 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar to make up for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Bachman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out PERFECT!!! Only thing Was that instead of 3 hours they were done at 1 hour and 45 minutes at 200 degrees. You could tap them with a knife and they will sound like porcelain. Delicious, crunchy and not TOO sweet just PERFECT. I do need to improve the technique since they look a bit exploded, but for a first timer and using a hand mixer they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The recipe is fine, but they left out CREAM OF TARTER, not sure why they did that, but without it i think 1/4 teaspoon would be fine, may be wrong. It won't set up like it should..... the recipe they have is for marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I added about a third tsp of cream of tarter to help with stability, and I cut the sugar back by a third. Perfect technique description! They needed a bit longer to bake, but that could be my oven. I left them in to cool overnight, and lovely. Next time a drop of lemon extract. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States