Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I tried it & this recipe is so tasty your recipe os 100% five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I love this recipe! I used meringue powder instead of egg whites. ( 2 tsp meringue powder + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg white ) I mixed it until it was foamy and added the powdered sugar. Then i added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract and almond extract and mixed it on high until it formed hard peaks. I used a frosting extruder to pipe them. I am baking them on a baking sheet with a silicon baking mat on top instead of greasing the pan. They aren't sticking at all and they are nice and white, not browned on the bottom even! they are in the oven right now but almost done, I took a few samples during mixing and baking and they are delicious! ( the good thing about using meringue powder instead of egg is you can sample it as you mix!!) Defiantly making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very easy to make - love them. I would recommend removing stove knobs (if on front of stove) before baking these, 200 degrees for 3 hours makes them very hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The consistency worked out very well, but I found it tasted a lot like powdered sugar.. wouldn't make it again, needed a better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Well, I didn't get 36 out of this but i also didn't use a piping bag so it's all good. Anyway, I signed up specifically to say that these are really good and really easy. I used my kitchen aide and the whipping time took about 15 minutes. My boyfriend who doesn't like sweets just hid some behind his back before telling me he's had about 5 since I started cooking (2 hours ago). They took me about 1.5 hours to cook. I'm going to make some more last minute for passover! Oh, Also, after everything was completely done, before spooning onto the cookie sheet, i added a tsp of pure vanilla (none of the imitation stuff, but liquid vanilla extract). Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me. I let them in the oven for just 20 minutes and they were ENTIRELY burned! I thought it was a bit odd to leave them for 3 hours, but I didn't expect them to get burned after 20 MINUTES! So the next batch I only let it bake for 10 minutes, so it didn't get burned, but some other weird thing happened... they puffed instantly, turned doughnut-like and kept growing until I got them out. Then they flattened almost immediately and there was pretty much nothing left of the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I LOVED the texture but next time I'll add flavoring. Mine tasted funny - like eating a spoonful of powdered sugar: sweet, but weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are the best! The confectioner's sugar is really the key, IMO. Remember, room temp egg whites whip up fluffy. My oven runs hot so I turned the temp to 175 degrees and let them cook for three hours, well, kind of, I kept sneaking one here and there just to test, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheKook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is a no fail recipe. As a chef, I'll give some tips for any beginners out there. Take a papertowel and about 1 tsp of white distilled vinegar and wipe your stainless bowl with it. This makes sure there are no oils that will interfere with your egg whites. Further, I always add about 1/2 tsp of baking powder. It doesn't change the taste and it makes the whites stiffen up quickly, especially if you don't have time to let the egg whites come completely to room temp. After the egg whites were completely stiff, I added a dash of cinnamon and butter extract. I topped them with mini-morsels and made them smaller so that they cook faster. Hope this helps! Great recipe and super tasty meringues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Ive never had meringue cookies before! So easy to make. They just melt in your mouth. Did some with cocoa powder and almond extact. It was a good variety. Thank you for the recipe. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States