Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
HELP!? I tried to make these 3 times in a row and each time they were more like icing and not "puffy." They look more like little pancakes on the baking sheet. Am I not beating enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidipetcher

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These turned out quite well. It was the first time I had made these so I wish there had been more instruction on how big to make them, though. Some of mine cracked, but I think I did not whip them long enough before piping. I think that must have been what i did wrong, because I used a swirl tip and they came out smooth. Those little guys are addictive, though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Came out ok. Needs flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwcookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canastota, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are fantastic. But to make them out of this world I add some mini chocolate chips. The best of both worlds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These were GREAT! I loved them, they were so easy to make and still tasted amazing. I did make a few changes though. I absolutly love chocolate so i added cocoa to taste. I also only cooked them for an hour and a half. This made them more chewy in the middle but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great recipe. A keeper. Use parchment paper on your baking sheets. Steer clear of any butter or shortening because fats will break down the egg whites. Completely fat free bowls & pans, and beating the egg whites thoroughly before adding the sugar GRADUALLY will solve the problem of "sinking" or "melting" cookies. I'm going to make another bath, trying the suggestion someone made of using Jello mix. Plan to put that in my measuring cup first, then add sugar until I get a total of 2 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Melt-in-your-mouth delicious! I used the specified ratio of whites to sugar. Even with my stand mixer on almost the highest speed, it took a good 15 to 20 minutes to get stiff peaks. If you want beautiful cookies that hold their shape, be sure to beat the egg whites long enough! Also, two additional options for keeping them from sticking to the pan: 1) mix equal parts shortening and flour and smear on the pan (I do this for all my cakes and it prevents the gummy mess on the outside), or 2) use ungreased parchment paper (so fast and easy!). A final note and word of advise stemming from my goof--if you have a gas oven, you may not be able to leave the door cracked. I tried this and my cookies were not done after 7 hours. I enlisted my husband's help and the oven wouldn't stay lit with the door open so they had basically been baking by the oven light only! I shut the door, reheated to 200 and baked an additional 2 hours and they came out perfectly. I think next time I will reduce the heat to 185 and bake the entire time with the door closed then turn the oven off and open the door to cool when the baking is complete. I hope these tips help--these cookies really are delectable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Loved these cookies...I added vanila so I also upped the sugar. They were great! Great recipe to use when you have left over egg whites from another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Really sweet and delicious recipe. For the reviewers that said that theirs did not set up: You need to beat the eggs and sugar more. I beat mine for probably 10 minutes and they turned out beautiful. I did have to cook mine a little longer than the recipe stated. After 3 hours they were still very wet inside so I closed the oven door and kept cooking them for about 40 more minutes. It was very cool in my house today (about 50 degrees), so that may have had something to do with them not being done in 3 hours; since the oven door was cracked open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I've been trying to master the meringues for a decade. Back in Europe they were my favorite cookie, but we called it kisses. This recipe recreated the perfectly swirled peaks, my kids and I can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romana Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States