Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these tonite and they are melt-in-your-mouth. Made them a little larger than i usually would as they are going to be the tops of mushrooms for the Yule Log. Smaller, pop in your mouth size would be a better size, i imagine. Instead of using a pastry bag i dropped them by regular size spoonfuls (table spoon, not Tbs.) Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These meringues are fantastic- light, crunchy, perfect! I scraped 1/2 of a vanilla bean into the egg at the same time I added the sugar. I folded in 3 crushed candy canes before piping and then sprinkled them with more candy cane. The result was great! I will make them every Christmas, I am sure. FWIW, I did some tests with freezing them and had success. I put them in a ziploc bag and then into a plastic container and froze them. To thaw, just set the whole thing out at room-temp and DO NOT OPEN either container until the entire thing is room temp. The meringues should be just as good as when you made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were melt in your mouth good. I did two modification to the original recipe. I added one vanilla bean (about 4 inches long) and one cup of toasted coconut flakes. Added the vanilla when it reached soft peaks and then folded the coconut in. Unfortunately, the coconut clogged my piping tip, so piped them without the tip. My husband loved the melt in your mouth and then chewy coconut. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are beautiful cookies. I forgot to butter my parchment and they stuck, but the texture was great. I would like to try with some flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe!! I added a little almond extract and loved it even more!! Just one question though, is it possible to keep the meringues white instead of getting lightly browned while baking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Twinky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Awesome! I am so pleased with myself that I actually made meringues. :) My first batch didn't turn out great, so I went back and read reviews and discovered that I was supposed to beat the whites much longer than I did. So I tried again, beat them for ten minutes, and they turned out perfect. They were done 15-20 minutes sooner than the recipe said, but thankfully I checked them. Later Edit: Too much sugar. They tasted like sugar instead of meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Confectioners suger contains some cornstarch, which will contribute to the stability of the meringues. If you substitute regular sugar, you should add a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end, along with any flavoring or food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I really don't like giving poor ratings and reviews, but I felt like I needed to give a heads-up to people who might be considering using this recipe. I don't understand all the great reviews and wonderful results people supposedly got with this recipe. My meringue NEVER got past the stage where it looked like melted marshmallow creme. I let it whip in my Kitchenaid for about 15 minutes and watched it the entire time, so I know I didn't "over-beat" it. I added the sugar about 2 Tbs at a time, letting each addition fully blend in before adding more. There was no way I could pipe this into anything but a puddle on the baking sheet, so I ended up using the "Peppermint Meringues" recipe instead, omitting the crushed candy canes. That recipe has cream of tartar in it, which I think really is necessary for getting the meringue nice and stiff (every lemon meringue pie recipe I've ever made called for cream of tartar in the meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a great recipe super easy. I piped the meringues out in the shape of a ghost and added eyes and a nose with frosting. Too cute for a holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I closed my oven door and only cooked them for 2 hours and they turned out great. Next time I will try them with mint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States