Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love to try new things, but I am very fussy when it comes to the foods I truly love. I have had very few chicken enchiladas that I really like. We visited a restaurant in San Diego CA many years ago that had the most delicious chicken enchiladas, and I can tell you I have been disappointed with chicken enchiladas in nearly every other capacity since. Until I tried these! WOW!!! These are WONDERFUL! I have tried this recipe three times. It is divine every time! This is a keeper! If I could rate it 12 stars I would!!!! My husband loves these as well! In MHO it is best as is... I love to experiment, but the way this recipe is put together is truly the way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. Made double batch= 9x13, 9x9,& pie dish, each a slightly dif variation. Used the full amt peppers- 7 serranos, 1 red chili and 2 jalaps. Used small tomatillos (max golfballish) as suggested to avoid bitterness. Bought fresco cheese even though $8/10 oz*. Added 1c chopped onion, a little sour cream (1/3 c*) and a little mexican cheese blend (1/2 c*) to the shredded chicken. The first 9x13 dish I forgot to dip the tortillas in the verde sauce after frying them. Poured sauce over top and sprinkled fresco cheese on top. The second dish 9x9 we fryed and dipped, poured sauce over and sprinkled fresco & mexi blend. The third dish I just dipped in the sauce; poured sauce over & sprinkled fresco + generous mexi blend. If not fried, the tortillas break when you try to roll them up. All three dishes were popped in the oven at 375 until cheese melted and slightly browned and sauce bubbly- maybe about 15 min. Results of three variations: Tortillas best is fried and dipped in sauce (original directions); little dry if not fired and slightly less spicy if not dipped. Fresco cheese tastes a lot like mozzarella but doesnt melt as well. Mexi blend cheese on top was fantastic - melted, browned, and tasted best. Will sub shredded moz for Fresco next time- tastes similar, melts better. (if not baking used fresco b/c crumbles nice). I rec using a red chili in sauce just b/c looks great. Use full amt of peppers if u like good spicy; more if u like tears/puffing spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this for a group of 8 that came over to the house for dinner. Everything about these enchiladas were irresistible! The frying then coating with salsa was a little difficult at first. However, after a few (Delicious) attempts I got the technique down. I even had one guest as for more of the tomatillo salsa. They were looking for heat, so I made certain to chop up the fresh jalapeno that they contributed to the meal and add that to the top of their enchilada. These were a hit! Not even remotely easy to make, but a great way to feed a bunch. I think the next step is to make them when they're here rather than ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsparksmsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Fantastic!! I roasted my tomatillos, serranos, and 1 poblano, sweated them and peeled them. Doubling the sauce was key to getting the components right. I took the inauthentic route of baking the whole shebang (with raw white onions, sour cream and cheese) for about 30 mins at 350 degrees. Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I give the recipe 4 stars as written. I found the tomatillo sauce a little bland for our taste so I amped it up with 6 cloves of garlic, a diced and seeded jalapeno, and two big roasted green chiles. I used Pam to soften my corn tortillas and then I rolled them with chicken, green sauce, and cheese inside. I stacked them in a 9x13 and made about 30 enchiladas (two layers). After the first layer I ladled some green sauce over the enchiladas, then more ladled over the top of the second layer. I covered with foil and baked in a 375 oven for about 30 minutes and TURNED THE OVEN OFF. I removed the foil and covered the enchiladas with a layer of shredded cheese and popped them back in the oven for another 10 minutes to melt the cheese. Holy cow, these are SO YUMMY!! I give the enchiladas I made TEN STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Super good!!! Taste was awesome and authentic. We thought that the sauce would be too thin and too hot, but not to worry when you put it back on to boil it thickens right up and the flavors blend so nicely when added to the chicken, tortillas, cilantro, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
red corn tortillas, and goat cheese would have completed the authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Sauce was super easy and delicious! Got a little messy, but it tasted so good, no one minded wearing a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I doubled the sauce and it was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was really good. I did follow as directed but I tasted the salsa verde and ending up adding a tsp of cumin. I also added queso blanco inside the enchiladas with the chicken and drizzled crema on top. My family loves cheese enchiladas and chicken enchiladas so I made a combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States