Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe is awesome. Exactly what I remember from my days spent in Mexico and like nothing I've been able to find in a restaurant here. Very authentic. Made the tomatillo sauce exactly as written. My only change to the rest was that I shredded a rotisserie chicken instead of boiling chicken, and added the bones from the rotisserie to flavor the broth mixture. Sooooooo good. My hubby and I can't stop talking about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Wow! This was good! I used a rotisserie chicken instead of cooking my own and did not cook the tortillas in oil before dipping them in the sauce since I didn't want the extra calories. Since the recipe didn't say to remove the seeds and ribs from the peppers I cooked them whole but only ended up using one in the sauce and it was plenty hot. My lips were burning! So good. I can't wait to make them again for my oldest son! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
These are the best enchiladas I have made! They are full of flavor and my family loves them. As written, the recipe is too spicy for my kids, so I cut back on the amount of serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
These are definitely the best Enchiladas I have ever made! They are as authentic tasting as if you ordered them from a real authentic Mexican restaurant. I took the advise of using less Serrano peppers (I used 3)and the sauce was still extremely spicy. My husband and I love hot, spicy foods but this was too much spice. I added a spoonful (1/8th cup or so?) of sour cream to a small amount of the sauce and it was over the top!!!! I will be eating the leftovers this weekend and it's going on my rotation list most definitely! Go make some of these, they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamg208

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe. Used canned green sauce instead of doing the tomatilos. Although I will try it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
So Amazing!! Loved, even my super picky children loved! Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The salsa is so good! Followed MB's tips in the comments and they turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Doubled the sauce by others recommendations, used thighs because that's what I had on hand, and I baked them with cheese on top and the end results were so good I will never make another enchilada recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love to try new things, but I am very fussy when it comes to the foods I truly love. I have had very few chicken enchiladas that I really like. We visited a restaurant in San Diego CA many years ago that had the most delicious chicken enchiladas, and I can tell you I have been disappointed with chicken enchiladas in nearly every other capacity since. Until I tried these! WOW!!! These are WONDERFUL! I have tried this recipe three times. It is divine every time! This is a keeper! If I could rate it 12 stars I would!!!! My husband loves these as well! In MHO it is best as is... I love to experiment, but the way this recipe is put together is truly the way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. Made double batch= 9x13, 9x9,& pie dish, each a slightly dif variation. Used the full amt peppers- 7 serranos, 1 red chili and 2 jalaps. Used small tomatillos (max golfballish) as suggested to avoid bitterness. Bought fresco cheese even though $8/10 oz*. Added 1c chopped onion, a little sour cream (1/3 c*) and a little mexican cheese blend (1/2 c*) to the shredded chicken. The first 9x13 dish I forgot to dip the tortillas in the verde sauce after frying them. Poured sauce over top and sprinkled fresco cheese on top. The second dish 9x9 we fryed and dipped, poured sauce over and sprinkled fresco & mexi blend. The third dish I just dipped in the sauce; poured sauce over & sprinkled fresco + generous mexi blend. If not fried, the tortillas break when you try to roll them up. All three dishes were popped in the oven at 375 until cheese melted and slightly browned and sauce bubbly- maybe about 15 min. Results of three variations: Tortillas best is fried and dipped in sauce (original directions); little dry if not fired and slightly less spicy if not dipped. Fresco cheese tastes a lot like mozzarella but doesnt melt as well. Mexi blend cheese on top was fantastic - melted, browned, and tasted best. Will sub shredded moz for Fresco next time- tastes similar, melts better. (if not baking used fresco b/c crumbles nice). I rec using a red chili in sauce just b/c looks great. Use full amt of peppers if u like good spicy; more if u like tears/puffing spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States