Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Awesome! So fresh tasting, and so much flavor! I followed the advice of other reviewers and baked the shells instead of frying them. I used only 3 serrano peppers and removed most of the seeds. Perfect amount of spice for us. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Let me start by saying this recipe is E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T!!! Thank you for sharing it. We made it as directed for the most part, but due to the warnings about the heat we mixed things up a little with the peppers. For those who like a little spice but can't handle the intense burn, try this pepper combination: 2 Serranos, 1 Pablano, and 2 Anaheims - and be sure to de-seed all peppers before boiling. This way, you keep that awesome green chili flavor without all the burn. As a general rule, peppers typically get hotter the smaller they are. Knowing that makes it easier to mix and match a pepper blend that's right for you and yours. But make sure to stick with green varieties for this recipe! Oh, and as others have suggested, doubling the sauce is a must!! We doubled the chicken and trippled the sauce and it turned out to a perfectly delicious 6 servings. Yum, yum, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
quick, easy, tastie.... btw next time ill use less peppers, or atleast take some of the seeds out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Oh boy, this is good! I used all the serrano's called for, but only put three through the blender and that was for a double batch of sauce. I'm glad so many people suggested doubling the sauce, it wouldn't have been enough otherwise. Even with only three peppers it was almost too hot for us. The queso fresco helps to tame the heat. That and a little sour cream made these delicious! Okay, I am editing my rating...The above rating was taste testing only. The real dinner was FABULOUSO!!! Used "Best Black Beans" by Cameron and "Mexican Rice II" by Mommyto2 on this site. Served with fresh guacamole....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Awesome! Not for those who don't like spice but very fresh and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthandwes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made these for cinco de mayo and have to say that although they were different from the non-traditional baked white sauce enchiladas that I was used to, they were delicious. And i loved the unique tangy taste of the tomatillos. When choosing tomatillos try to choose smaller, bright green firm ones.I used flour tortillas (did not have any corn ones at Superstore!) and heated them in a pan without oil. I then dipped the inside into the salsa verde. Then i filled them with a chicken, sour cream and mozza mixture (couldn't find the right cheese). I boiled a whole chicken, and it filled up 8 larger tortillas. I added sauce to the bottom of a 9x13 and 8x8 pan and put the enchiladas in and covered with the rest of the sauce and mozza cheese. Baked for 15-20 mins on 400. It was great, but think it would be better with corn tortillas, and more sauce ( I had just over a pound of tomatillos and it still wasn't enough).Also for the sauce I didnt use very much broth at all because the tomatillos were very juicy on their own, and only used 2 peppers. Spicy but not inedible. Yum!!!! With some more practice I think these will be above + beyond a 5 star recipe. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Totally yummy! I substituted poblano chiles for the serrano. Ya' gotta' use what's available! Blistering chiles is just something that I am used to doing, so I did make that change. Otherwise I made them according to the recipe. Seasonings are pretty personal so I added some Adobo seasoning to the chicken. This recipe goes into the winner's circle for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These enchiladas are fantastic! The only thing I recommend is putting some lime juice in the sauce and serving them with fresh avocado on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is almost an exact duplicate of Rick Bayless' recipe ... only difference is that he adds a little sour cream to chicken to bind it a bit before filling tortillas. If opting to bake, he recommends only 10 minutes @ 400 (which I, like so many others, shamefully prefer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
So much better than restaurant enchiladas! I added some fresh lime juice to the shredded chicken and finished it in a pan with some vegetable oil to make the taste a bit more rich. I also agree with the other reviews - you can cut down on the peppers by 1/2 and it'll still have a lot of kick. We made this twice in a row (once for a party, and the next night at home) because it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Devine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States