Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
A bit time consuming, but I love these enchiladas. I cut back a bit on the heat. Following suggestions, I add the broth in gradually to the tomatillos in the blender. I usually need very little. I also like to add a bit of jack cheese inside my enchiladas and heat up my chicken in a bit of the simmering green sauce just to give it a bit more flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These were fantastic! We had these last night and my mouth is still watering for them. I only used 3 serranos, seeds in, as others suggested and it was pretty hot, but it was that good hot where I couldn't stop eating it. After blending, I strained the sauce back into a pot and added arrowroot to thicken. I had also made my own corn tortillas the day before and they were amazing with this! We weren't really sure how to eat these so we folded them up like a taco. Excellent!! The only thing I would do different next time is to squeeze a fresh lime over the top. Thank you so much for this recipe!! I think I'll have the leftovers for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Let me start by saying I was born and raised in NJ and spend 4 years in the late 80's in Arizona and fell in LOVE with authentic mexican food. Since I moved back east, I have been unable to find a "true" mexican restaurant or traditional recipes. This was truly AMAZING!! My son and his friends came home to watch the Jets game and were saying how amazing the house smelled. They could not stop eating them. Delicious! Thank you Patti -- This will easily become one of my families "favorites".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
tried it,liked it,neighbors were commenting you could smell the boiling from a ways! Trying the green sauce this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I can my own green salsa verde every year, so I used a pint of canned salsa verde verses making the fresh which made this recipe really quick to make, my family gave this rave reviews. I have also used left over pork butt roast just shred the meat verses the chicken it is excellant both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this is seriously awesome. kind of a lot of steps, but completely worth it. it's so good, every time. follow the recipe, don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Made it vegetarian with tofu instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A friend of mine gave me a whole bag of Tomatillos from his garden. When searching for a recipe to use them in I came across this one and I'm so glad I did! It is fabulous! I rolled the enchiladas and baked them in the oven for about 20 minutes. I added a bit of Pepper Jack cheese inside but it really didin't need it. Hubby was giving me "thumbs up" with every bite and a "high five" after dinner, then took leftovers for lunch the next day. Guess that says it all. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I wasn't sure how these were to be eaten. It didn't matter though, because these were very delicious!! The only problem I found was that the recipe didn't make enough salsa for 3 people. I made the home-made tortillas and it turned out wonderful with this recipe! Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I am a convert to green salsa! I was unable to find serrano chilies so used jalapenos....still packed heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States