Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I have been following this recipe exactly as written for years and it is a family favorite. My husband asks for it on his birthday and Father's Day. Whenever I make it for other people, they always ask for the recipe. 5 serrano peppers give the perfect spice. Not too hot, not too mild. When we do make a change to the recipe, it is to use flour tortillas instead of corn. Once, as a change, I decided to try these baked in a 13x9 dish. They were ok, but nothing in comparison to following the recipe as written. I do not recommend baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by j9inLACA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Made this tonight after wanting a more authentic recipe for my leftover roast chicken. The authenticity of the prep and ingredients attracted me. I doubled the sauce with 6 serranos and will enjoy freezing the leftovers for future use. This made a pretty spicy sauce. Next time I will probably double the sauce and use 3 serranos. As a previous reviewer stated, if you have the choice, go with the tiny tomatillos for the best flavor. I didn't strain the sauce as another recommended as I was preparing this for a weeknight meal and time was of the essence . My regular ole eating blender made quick work of purifying the sauce to an acceptable consistency. I omitted the salt because I used prepared chicken stock and cities cheese .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Poxa90
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was absolutely delicious! I found the chicken to be a bit too salty, though. Next time, I would reduce/eliminate the added 2 tsp. of salt in step #1. 5 stars, without a doubt though! This might have been the best meal that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
100% authentic taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this several times for my family and they love it thanks for posting. Only thing I changed I put it in the over then put sauce on top after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The salsa verde is amazing. For an easy cheat on the chicken, I used the breast meat from a readymade garlic-lime rotisserie chicken and some low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These were fantastic. Best homemade enchiladas I have ever had the pleasure of eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The green salsa was good but the chicken itself was bland I will make the salsa and make changes to the chicken like adding cumin and a maybe some cooked peppers and onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy ley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
What a fantastic recipe...very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States