Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This is by FAR the BEST recipe ever! my husband and I like super spicy, so I upped the serrano chiles to 7 or 8. The bone-in chicken makes for a superb meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Wow. This recipe is fabulous. I did make a few changes, but not with the green sauce, which made the recipe superb. (Though did only add 3 serranos per others suggestion). I used 3 boneless skinless breasts and prepared as directed, also sauteed some onion and garlic with the shredded chicken. Rolled up like regular enchiladas with mexican blend cheese and sauce inside and out, topped with more cheese, and baked for 20 minutes so they'd already be assembled. Served with extra sauce on the side. Best enchiladas I've ever had! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
We made this recipe last night and absolutely loved it! We did use all 5 serrano peppers, but fortunately can take the heat. We chose to bake the enchiladas instead of baking them, and I used fresh Parmesan. This is quite a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
These are awesome. The green sauce is really really good. I was in Buffalo NY and couldnt get serrano's so I substituted Jalapenos and added a bit extra. I also rolled them a whole pan at a time and topped with Monterey Jack cheese instead, then served with a little choppped onion and cilantro and sour cream. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe, I will definately be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
All I can say is WOW! This is an awesome recipe! I can honestly say that this is the best recipe I have ever found at allrecipes.com, and I've been using this website for over 5 years! I decided to prepare this recipe last minute for dinner. Which probaby wasn't the best idea, because this recipe does take time. My husband loved it! I didn't serve it to the children, because I thought it would be too spicy for them. I was wondering what I could substitute for serrano peppers that would not make it spicy? My suggestion would be to prepare the chicken and the salsa in advance. You could then reheat the salsa for the tortillas. I also would suggest to mix some chicken with the salsa and chopped onions, and then reheat it over the stove. This way it's nice and hot when you fill the tortilla, and it takes away some of the extra zest in the onion (if you prefer a milder onion taste). And then top with the cheese and cilantro. Wonderful Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This was very good.I only used 4 serranos instead of 5 and it was nice and spicy.I may try next time cooking the meat and broth in the crock pot instead of boiling, but this still was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Excellent. A few suggestions...add cilantro into the blender when making the verde sauce. Also, reheat the shredded chicken in a saucepan on low and mix in some sour cream. Believe it or not, if you can't find queso fresco, crumbled feta works quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Incredible, I only used 2 serrano peppers and it was perfect. I found a store that sold the tomatillas and the queso fresco which made the meal superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Absolutely delicous recipe- so good even my picky husband loved them, wouldn't change a thing to this recipe, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States