Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I wish I could give this more stars! This was incredible. I've never really liked enchiladas, but I'm used to having them with red chile. These.... These may be the greatest enchiladas ever!! I read other reviews and became afraid of the serranos and only added two. I wish I would have used more. Otherwise, I made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is the first time I have cooked/prepared food with tomatillas. This recipe was fun. I had to improvise. I didn't have any Serrano peppers so I seasoned with my habenero sauce (Bob's Fire Sauce from this site) and red pepper chili flakes. My only regret is I didn't have enough of the sauce. I will definitely make this again... definitely. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious and authentic. I am a young Mexican cook and I needed a little help from an online recipe for my first attempt at enchiladas. This is as authentic as you can get. I like my enchiladas a little wet, so I doubled up on the salsa recipe, but cut down on the spice (I have a sensitive stomach). I used 3 peppers for 2 pounds of tomatillos (double the amount), and it gave it a nice little non-burning kick! If you enjoy that burning sensation, then I'd suggest you add a little more. (I think 5 peppers/1 pounds of tomatillos would be extreme though!) On top I added julienne iceberg lettuce, watery sour cream (watered down with milk, not actual water), sliced radishes, and cilantro. Don't forget about the rice and beans! I served this to a group of hungry college buddies, and the guys would not stop showering me with compliments. They are convinced on marrying a Mexican woman because of this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are AMAZING!!!! If I use chicken bouillon, I leave out the salt, otherwise I do everything the same. Every person we have served these to has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Super yummy! And not nearly as hard to make as it read!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Why go to a restaurant when you can get authentic taste at home? A time saving tip the day of, is to make the meat and sauce ahead of time. The assembly only takes a few minutes for each enchilada. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was wonderful! The only change I made was to reduce the serrano peppers from 5 to 3. Oh, I also forgot to add the cilantro! Will definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
wonderful. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Oh yes!! This is the bomb! But be carefull with the peppers though, 2 is very HOT for us!! Definitely a keepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States