Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These enchiladas were pretty good, but I felt like the sauce lacked in the flavor department. Honestly I'm not sure it was any better than the Old El Paso canned sauce. I may try an alteration to this recipe next time to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Simply the BEST! My husband loved them! I took the advice of the first reviewer...on the salt substitutions and size of tomatillos. I am afraid to order these @restaurants because sometimes they are too bitter....these were not bitter! They were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Absolutely the best Enchiladas Verdes I have ever eaten. I love them even more than those had at my favorite restaurant. I made the dish exactly as is, with the exception that I left out the cilantro. I did not feel the extra strong flavor of the herb would be needed, and I believe that was correct in my case. The chicken was wonderfully moist and seasoned just right, and the fresh tomatillo salsa is to die for. I would advice being very conservative when adding the chicken broth to the blender when making the salsa. Start with a little and add more to get the proper amount of liquidity. Too runny is no good. I served them with a dollop of sour cream on the side. These enchiladas are some work to prepare, but well worth it. Easily a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I wish I could give this more stars! This was incredible. I've never really liked enchiladas, but I'm used to having them with red chile. These.... These may be the greatest enchiladas ever!! I read other reviews and became afraid of the serranos and only added two. I wish I would have used more. Otherwise, I made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is the first time I have cooked/prepared food with tomatillas. This recipe was fun. I had to improvise. I didn't have any Serrano peppers so I seasoned with my habenero sauce (Bob's Fire Sauce from this site) and red pepper chili flakes. My only regret is I didn't have enough of the sauce. I will definitely make this again... definitely. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious and authentic. I am a young Mexican cook and I needed a little help from an online recipe for my first attempt at enchiladas. This is as authentic as you can get. I like my enchiladas a little wet, so I doubled up on the salsa recipe, but cut down on the spice (I have a sensitive stomach). I used 3 peppers for 2 pounds of tomatillos (double the amount), and it gave it a nice little non-burning kick! If you enjoy that burning sensation, then I'd suggest you add a little more. (I think 5 peppers/1 pounds of tomatillos would be extreme though!) On top I added julienne iceberg lettuce, watery sour cream (watered down with milk, not actual water), sliced radishes, and cilantro. Don't forget about the rice and beans! I served this to a group of hungry college buddies, and the guys would not stop showering me with compliments. They are convinced on marrying a Mexican woman because of this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are AMAZING!!!! If I use chicken bouillon, I leave out the salt, otherwise I do everything the same. Every person we have served these to has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Super yummy! And not nearly as hard to make as it read!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Why go to a restaurant when you can get authentic taste at home? A time saving tip the day of, is to make the meat and sauce ahead of time. The assembly only takes a few minutes for each enchilada. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States