Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Fantastic!! I roasted my tomatillos, serranos, and 1 poblano, sweated them and peeled them. Doubling the sauce was key to getting the components right. I took the inauthentic route of baking the whole shebang (with raw white onions, sour cream and cheese) for about 30 mins at 350 degrees. Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I give the recipe 4 stars as written. I found the tomatillo sauce a little bland for our taste so I amped it up with 6 cloves of garlic, a diced and seeded jalapeno, and two big roasted green chiles. I used Pam to soften my corn tortillas and then I rolled them with chicken, green sauce, and cheese inside. I stacked them in a 9x13 and made about 30 enchiladas (two layers). After the first layer I ladled some green sauce over the enchiladas, then more ladled over the top of the second layer. I covered with foil and baked in a 375 oven for about 30 minutes and TURNED THE OVEN OFF. I removed the foil and covered the enchiladas with a layer of shredded cheese and popped them back in the oven for another 10 minutes to melt the cheese. Holy cow, these are SO YUMMY!! I give the enchiladas I made TEN STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Super good!!! Taste was awesome and authentic. We thought that the sauce would be too thin and too hot, but not to worry when you put it back on to boil it thickens right up and the flavors blend so nicely when added to the chicken, tortillas, cilantro, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
red corn tortillas, and goat cheese would have completed the authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britt

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Sauce was super easy and delicious! Got a little messy, but it tasted so good, no one minded wearing a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I doubled the sauce and it was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was really good. I did follow as directed but I tasted the salsa verde and ending up adding a tsp of cumin. I also added queso blanco inside the enchiladas with the chicken and drizzled crema on top. My family loves cheese enchiladas and chicken enchiladas so I made a combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe generated amazing enchiladas. We eat out at a number of Mexican restaurants that make great Enchiladas verde and this recipe meets, and in some cases, exceeds in taste and texture. We went with one Seranno chilli and I removed the seeds before boiling to cut down on the heat. (what can I say, i don't do well with the heat) Next time I will add another couple but still remove the seeds before cooking. Thank you, other reviewers, for suggesting to double up on the verde sauce ingredients, it makes such a difference to have extra sauce to pour over the dish. Also, I baked ours for about 15 minutes in a 400 degree oven after having placed the enchiladas in a baking dish and topping it with a Jack and Feta cheese mix. It is difficult to get the required cheese where I live. When one puts in all this effort it is a pleasure to get these results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
These were AMAZING. My only reason for giving it 4 out of 5 stars in heating level. I recommend cutting the pepper quantity in half, or even more. They were too spicy for me, and I usually can take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam-a-lam-Jammer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This has become a family favorite, much requested! Definitely worth the time to make the sauce - we love it for chips, too! I've always followed the recipe exactly and it turns out every time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States