Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good Lord these were delicious! My husband ate 5, my daughter ate 4 (yikes!), I had 3 and my son ate 1 (he's not a fan of enchiladas). Will make again tonight! Thanks PattiVerde for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceSevenfold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These were AMAZING! I was very proud of myself for pulling them off, being as "white" as I am! The only thing I added to the recipe was topping them all with the queso fresco and then baking them on 420 for 20 mins to melt the cheese. That did make them fall apart more when dishing them up, but they were so good we didn't care. They were pretty spicy for my taste, but again, I'm a true 'white girl'. I was sweating and my boyfriend was laughing at me. They tasted amazing though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Like many others, my only complaint with this recipe was that it didn't make enough salsa verde! Other than that, it was a phenomenal enchiladas verdes recipe I made for my husband and some of his friends, one of whom is from a Spanish family and even he thought these were fantastic enchiladas! My husband, the world's pickiest eater who had already shot down two previously tried enchilada recipes, adored these! I changed the salsa verde recipe a little to suit our tastes, used a pound of tomatillos, five serranos, one jalapeno, and one anaheim (we like spicy!). It was perfect for my taste, but my husband said it could stand to have a little more spice. Next time I'm DEFINITELY doubling the salsa recipe! Also, for my husband's preference when these were assembled I put them in a baking dish, topped with the remaining salsa, queso fresco, and a bag of sharp cheddar (that's the only other cheese we had) and baked them in a 375 degree oven for fifteen minutes so the cheese was melty. He loves melted cheese on EVERYTHING, but I personally would have enjoyed them best just as the recipe calls. I ended up with about twenty fantastic enchiladas! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
delicious. followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a shake of all purpose seasoning to the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I only used the verde sauce in this recipe and it turned out better than I could have ever hoped for!! I made a slight change in the recipe and did not boil the peppers. I roasted and peeled the skin off my peppers instead. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The chicken filling was a little plain and needed something extra despite the fact that I added cumin and the salsa verde mixture. However, the salsa verde was amazing! I didn't add any chicken stock as it was already thin enough and I only added one serrano pepper since they have a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEFFS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but the concept is awesome! I wasn't sure what to do with tomatillos, and this if fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a really good recipe! I followed the directions precisely but the sauce seemed a bit too thin so I added more tomatillos. Great flavor in the sauce. My only complaint is the chicken had that standard boiled taste to it, I used 4 boneless/skinless breasts. Next time I will put the chicken and other ingredients in my crockpot and then mix in some of the sauce before I roll the tortillas. This should get rid of that flavor I dislike. Other than that, this is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannaW
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Resist the temptation to Americanize this dish by smothering it in cheese because you will miss out on a wonderful experience. Excellent recipe, but be forewarned you'll never want to eat American Enchiladas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Colstrip, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Oh man...this sauce is really good. Thanks. I added an extra serrano and it was too much. For me, everything was in perfect proportion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States