Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is my family's favorite dinner. We always double the sauce and make several times the chicken. We then freeze the chicken to use in our next batch. I more than double the garlic just because we LOVE garlic and due to the fact that I have 3 kids we only use 2-3 serranos in the sauce. DELICIOUS!!!!!! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe was a hit in my house! Although the sauce was a bit spicy everyone loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These were really good!! I didn't make the homemade green salsa I substituted green salsa by Archer Farms and it was really good!!! I would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent! This goes into the monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is was to die for. It was so good, easy, and inexpensive. The first night, I made it exactly as directed but the second night, I dipped the tortillas in the salsa before frying and they still had the flavor but the added bonus of a crunch and more of a toasty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Used mozzarella instead of queso fresco. Used only 3 peppers without the seeds and membrane. Very fresh and authentic tasting. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was pretty good, although my sauce tasted a little bitter. To compensate, we ended up adding some New Mexico green chili. I still felt like it was missing something but it was good. Next time, I would use green chilis instead of the serranos because of the flavor difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Wow - so delicious! As with most authentic Mexican dishes, the preparation is a little bit time consuming but well-worth the effort. As another reviewer suggested, I would recommend doubling the verde sauce. Even if you have leftovers after the enchiladas are done, the sauce goes great cold as a dip for chips. Personally, I preferred stuffing the enchiladas with the cheese, cilantro, and onions as opposed to topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very good recipe! I agree, this is very authentic and, subsequently, a laborious process. My mother used to do everything pretty much the same way but she'd skip the tortilla frying part and would just dip them in the sauce. Then, she'd assemble each and place them in a casserole dish, covering everything with cheese and the remaining enchilada sauce. Most store-bought corn tortillas hold up well without frying because they are so dry. After baking at 350 degrees until the cheese is bubbly, you end up with "Tex-Mex" enchiladas with an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My boyfriend is from Mexico City and this is EXACTLY how he taught me to make enchiladas verdes. This is fantastic and fresh and if you cook the chicken and combine the salsa ahead of time, you can have delicious enchiladas verdes any time! Also, since I live on a budget, I often purchase canned, green tomatoes to create the salsa verde since the fresh tomatillos are more expensive. I just combine the salsa ingredients in a blender (careful not to over-blend to avoid breaking seeds as they can be bitter) and then fry the salsa in a little oil. And yes, like Rosa Marina, I was taught to use caldo con sabor de pollo but i prefer to use sea salt to avoid the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States