Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe 3 times so far, and it is AMAZING. Like other people who have commented, I substitute 1 tsp of ground allspice for the 5 allspice berries. This results in a more consistent allspice flavor throughout. Also, I make sure to use white onions (instead of yellow or red). The smooth sweetness of white onions compliments this recipe perfectly. This Cincinnati chili recipe absolutely punishes the stuff made at H*rd T*mes. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demetri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepared this up with some left over turkey burgers in the freezer that we needed to get rid of. I thawed them out then started boiling it per the recipe. I added two beef bullion cubes to compensate for the lack of actual beef. Followed everything else and it was delicious! We like our food spicy, so I added more cayenne and chili powder. Served it up with kidney beans and jalapenos. No cheese ( I know) because we are watching the fat and are lactose intolerant, but it still turned out delicious! We had it with thin spaghetti noodles. Yum. Don't forget to SALT SALT SALT the spaghetti noodles before boiling them. One other tip, I don't like having to search for whole cloves, bay leaf, and all spice so I stuck them into a coffee filter bag. Cut out a strip of the coffee filter from the top then used that as a string to tie the bag together. Works perfectly, cheap, and easy to get rid of the spices when I needed to. Really love the ability to skim the fat in this recipe. No more weird orange fat that turns SOLID in the bowl while finishing up dinner!! And of course.. the Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe! Awesome chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I found this recipe in Jeff Smiths 'The frugal Gourmet Cooks American' years ago, and have made it frequently. There is 5 ways to have this. Make the recipe, then to serve: 1. the meat and spiced chili 2. the chili comes on a pile of spaghetti. 3. spaghetti, chili and grated cheese. 4. add chopped yellow onions and 5. beans.! Enjoy it your favorite way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good version. I've tried several different versions and even tried using bits and pieces of each to find just the right blend(tough to do). This one works very well and can always be tweaked for your personal tastes. For those who like the consistency a little finer (me), after you've boiled the meat, take a hand blender to the pot. This makes it very fine! As a Cincinnati native living in Chicago, I'm always looking for a good fix. I grew up on this stuff! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I'm a big fan of Real Chili in Milwaukee and this comes pretty close. I used hot, red chili from New Mexico, which made this spicy, spicy, spicy! I skipped the refrigeration after cooking the meat, BUT I did think the chili was MUCH better the next day at lunch after refriging the entire pot overnight. In the future, I will probably allow that mellowing time if I plan to serve this to guests. The only thing I changed was using 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of the baking chocolate, only because it's what I had on-hand. Pretty great recipe as is, and if you complain about cinnamon and chocolate being in your chili, then you shouldn't be looking at Cincinnati style chili recipes...that's what makes this unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious. My entire family gobbled it down. I can't tell it apart from the original, even though I had to make a few modifications/substitutions. I used 3 Tb. cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand. I also had no whole cloves, bay leaves or whole allspice berries, so I substituted 1 tsp. of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is it! After fond memories of spending a long summer working in Cincinnati and going out to Skyline every Friday with my colleagues, I have been wracked with Skyline Chili cravings ever since. (No Goldstar, thank you! Although Goldstar was better on hot dogs, if I recall.) The cans of Skyline do not cut it, with their metallic tinge. The off-brand packets are not even close. I made this almost exactly as written, and it was perfect. The key - do not skim the fat. Put in extra fat if you use lean ground beef. 1) That's where the flavor is. 2) Fat is good for you - read Nourishing Traditions or Eat Fat, Lose Fat, or anything by Mary Enig. Low fat is what's making us fat - fat is what allows us to absorb vitamins. (And I used grassfed ground beef for the beefiest flavor and best nutritional profile.) Anyway, I served this on top of spaghetti with raw onions and oyster crackers. Then I froze what was left and later made the Skyline Chili Dip (layer with cream cheese, cheddar cheese, and onion) and served with french fries for dipping. (Fried in healthy grassfed beef tallow.) It was unbelievably good, and even my picky husband has asked for more. Thank you for this recipe! I had almost given up on Skyline chili at home, after several random internet recipes had failed, and even the Cook's Illustrated version was a bust. Thank you thank you thank you thank you. [Modifications: Do not skim the fat for best flavor. Unsweetened cocoa powder, ground cloves and ground allspice.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I think that there is just a little too much chocolate in it and needs more cinnamon. And many a few too many onions (and I like onions). But it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We've used this recipe for a few years now. My hubby went to Louisville and ate at Skyline and this is just like it. I don't refrigerate over night I just use 97% lean ground beef and it never seems to be too greasy. I don't use whole allspice berries as I can't seem to find them so I use 1 1/2tsp powder and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States