Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Ihave made this froma beans recipe book. I would like to know what beans were to be used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I grew up in Cincinnati and our chili of choice was Gold Star. For close to 20 years I have been searching for a decent Cincy chili recipe to no avail...until I found this one! I did augment the recipe to make it more like Gold Stars. (Skyline is more "earthy" than I like) I added hot water every 1/2 hour or so- maybe 1/2 cup every time to mellow it out and keep it from getting too thick. I also added ~ 2 teaspoons of light brown sugar, 1 teaspoon cardamom, and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. The result was more like Gold Star's chili recipe which is my preference. Thank you for posting this recipe...it quells my craving at least until I make the trip back home to Cincinnati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
So yummy. Never had this kind of chili before...and I dig it. So did everyone else. Made as shown only making substitutions suggested by others...cocoa for chocolate and allspice for berries. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Not being from Cincinnati- I tried this. My husband and I are both adventuresome eaters but neither of us liked this. The blend of spices- cinnamon, cloves, allspice is not what we liked. I won't make this again. Perhaps its something you like if you grew up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made this AGAIN this past week-end for Chili dogs on Monday....I make a double so I can freeze some to use again. This is the BEST chili on a dog you can ask for....and it's dang good on it's own as well. I'm sorry, I'm not from Cinci, nor have I had Cincinnati chili in the past so I can't compare, but this recipe is FANTASTIC AS IS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleride

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Having lived most all of my life in the Cincinnati area, I am very familiar with the Cincy style chili. Skyline Chili was my chili of choice. For a long time I have hoped for a recipe which would replicate this area favorite. Well, with this recipe, I think my search has finally ended. I followed the recipe as outlined,except using allspice powder instead of berries and unsweetened cocoa powder instead of chocolate squares. I didn't overnight the beef in the fridge after cooking. I just carefully skimmed the fat from the top after giving it time to separate from the water. Giving it a taste a couple of hours into the cooking, I gave it a shake or two more of chili powder and a couple more pinches of allspice. And that was it. After the three hours of cooking and boiling a pot of spaghetti, I sat down to the truest reproduction of the "real thing" as I have ever had. If you try this recipe, be patient. You need the whole three hours of cooking to fully merge all of the flavors and to get that true Cincinnati Chili taste. As the recipe noted might be necessary, I had to occasionally add a little water during simmering to keep the consistency and to prevent it from sticking. If you do these things, you will be rewarded for your efforts. We priced a container of Skyline while in the grocery today and it was a staggering $6.89!! Never again will we have to spend this outrageous price for a great local chili taste. Many, many thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oregonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I was born and raised in the Cincinnati area and am still here 61 yrs later. I eat Skyline often and have been looking for this recipe for a long time. I made exactly as written and it tasts exactly like the real thing. Thank you for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
THIS IS MY FAVORITE CHILI RECIPE EVER!! I DID ADD KIDNEY BEANS TO MINE. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have been using Allrecipes.com for 3-4 years now and have never had incidence with a 5-star recipe before. I created an account SPECIFICALLY to review this recipe. I had Skyline chili yesterday and this chili has a hint of the same flavor, but it is not the same recipe. I followed this recipe exactly and neither my husband nor I could finish our bowls. I'd try one of the Skyline seasoning packets or another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've never had Cincinnati Chili before... but we went all out for it and it was very good. We had spaghetti, cheese, and onions. I might make it again if I get a hankering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States