Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Not Skyline, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good chili Lots of flavor! Just enough spice very good bowl of chili. I added another 8 oz can of tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I loved this recipe. I have never had Skyline's chili, so I can't compare, but this is certainly a keeper!! It has such depth of flavor. I can't wait for fall when I can comfortably eat this again (summertime and 100+ degrees!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I didn't find scraping the fat necessary. I just cooked the meat in the water (which is very necessary to break up the meat) then drained all the excess liquid off. I added a bouillon cube back to the pan and put fresh water back into the chili, then just continued that way. No need to wait overnight, in my opinion... though *after* everything is cooked, it truly is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Wonderful dish! I added a bit of extra spices as per my preference. One addition to the procedure that makes a world of difference - before serving, put about a fourth of the chili in a blender for a few seconds and then return to the pot. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUMIHIUTALE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I'm from the Cincinnati area and this is dead-on! The only changes I made was instead of allspice berries, used 1/4 teaspoon of ground allspice, and instead of whole cloves, used 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves, and used 2 teaspoons of garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves. Loved it, we had it over spaghetti noodles with finely shredded cheddar cheese. Yum, this is going to be a regular menu item. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I truly enjoyed this chili, it was a nice change from the regular spicy bean chili. I had it 4 way (on spaghetti with shredded cheddar, raw onions & oyster crackers) and loved it. I used ground spices for the allspice & cloves. I also halved the receipe and made half with beef for myself and half with ground turkey for my husband who is allergic to red meat. I also didn't go crazy with the allspice & cloves because I didn't want it to overpower the dish and the result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So delicious!! As an Ohio native no longer living in OH, it was so great to eat a taste of home. I added 1 Tbs extra Cinnamon as well as 1 tsp Nutmeg and 2 Tbs sugar to the pot. I took this chili to a party and the crockpot was scraped clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent! Time consuming but worth every minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Tastes just like the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States