Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I am from Ohio but now live in New England and was craving skyline... I made this and it completely hit the spot!!! I used ground turkey and skipped the cooling process and I think it turned out perfectly!! Even my friends liked it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe but I wanted something like Skyline. This did not disappoint! I didn't have any cloves so I just used a little more allspice (ground, didn't even know they were berries). I also added a dash of turmeric, coriander, and nutmeg as I saw it used in other similar recipes. I also only had one small can of tomato sauce (oops) so I added a small can of tomato paste and extra water. Everything else, I used according to the recipe. I may have cooked the meat too quickly because I broke up several big chunks during the three hour simmer but it was still great and the texture came together in the last hour. I also added kidney beans a few minutes before serving since that's how I like it. It def took some time but was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The first time I prepared this recipe, a few months ago, was the very first time I ever had Cincinnati chili and I prepared it as a "five-way," with spaghetti, chili, onions, beans and shredded Cheddar. The only thing I did differently was to omit the chocolate (none on hand) and I used 1 tsp. of ground allspice instead of the whole berries. It was quite delicious, and in tasting the chili, I noticed that it was remarkably like the chili sauce used at one of my all-time favorite Worcester, MA haunts, George's Coney Island Hot Dogs, an institution in that city for almost one hundred years. So, while the chili with the spaghetti, et al, is great, I have been making batches of the chili to freeze to have on hand to make my own "Coney Dogs," Kayem Skinnies slathered with this sauce, yellow mustard and minced white onions on a New England style hot dog roll. I even give this sauce away as gifts, it is so popular. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I'd never heard of Cincinnati chili before I saw this recipe. While it was cooking, I have to admit I was skeptical. It smelled like a combination between apple pie and beef. As it turns out, the finished product is fantastic! I have no idea if the recipe is 'authentic' but I do know that it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I'm from Cinci and Skyline is my fave. No recipe will ever match the real deal, but this is very close. I used 1 t. ground allspice since I don't have the berries, 2T cocoa powder instead of real chocolate, and cider vinegar instead of regular. I didn't find it necessary to refrigerate to get the fat off. Using 93% lean hamburger, there wasn't any fat to speak of, and what little there may have been would've only enhanced the flavor. I did have to keep adding more water as it cooked. This recipe was just a tad more meaty than Skyline's. Theirs has a bit more water/grease for saturating the oyster crackers! It is absolutely necessary to finely shred mild cheddar cheese right before serving. The pre-packaged shredded cheddar isn't soft enough. Also, must serve with oyster crackers. One last note: make sure your dog doesn't eat any plate leftovers that go in the garbage. Gives them serious diarrhea. Guess it's not much different than getting some Skyline after drinking all night, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I'm sorry, I don't usually give negative reviews but we just didn't care for this. I guess I'm used to the spicy chili with beans we make here in the mid-west. The cinnamon especially tasted strange to us in a chili. I liked the method for cooking the beef and skimming the fat and I plan to use that in my chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Super tasty. My husband and I love this recipe. I didn't have allspice berries, so I added 1 teaspoon of ground allspice and I also didn't have whole cloves, so I used 1 teaspoon of ground cloves. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Served it at a family party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is such a true recipe! I did not have the berries, so I used the allspice powder. I did not have whole cloves but used ground cloves. I also used a large can of tomato paste and added waster to a large bowl first stirred it around really good. I also made a triple batch . Hands down ! this is the closest you will ever come to Cincinnati chili! What the other person do to there batch that it came out so darn bad not sure. I also skipped the frig part I strained my meat in a fine wire strainer and ran water over it to get ll the fat off.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky sand
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wasn't a fan of the cinnamon but everyone else loved it! I'll make it again and use 1/2 of the cinnamon and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States