Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is a good recipe! I didn't have some of the ingredients so I just winged it. I didn't have the bbq chicken so I just added bbq sauce to the mixture and it was good...added some flavor! On my part the egg roll wrappers did not turn out so well. So if this is your first time with egg rolls, practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
A good starter recipe and method, if a bit bland. Users who add a bit more robust ingredients will be pleased. Variations are endless, but the basic method is First Class. Important points are Roll and Seal with extreme care, as they need to be tight, air-free and well sealed. Watch your oil temperature and do not over cook. If sliced for serving, use a clean/sharp bread knife. Also, the filling must be cool and well drained; too much moisture can explode the rolls when frying - a big mess. Dipping sauces are endless - and optional. I like a no-sugar hot mustard, but soy/sesame oil, thinned with broth is also good. Cook's choice. Again, this recipe is a great place to begin your own...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Ho
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Alterations: cole slaw mix, matchstick carrots, low sodium soy-sauce, sliced Shitake mushrooms. Only used above ingredients with BBQ Pork, scallions, salt, sugar, and egg white for sealing egg rolls. Was only planning on cooking small amount so eyeballed amounts when I was cooking. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These were very tasty, and not too salty. My only criticism is that they are slightly bland. I added some celery and a few bean sprouts to the mixture, as well as some garlic to spruce things up a bit and add more depth to the egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
perfect. Brought these to an all-woman get together, and they raved. My husband, who doesn't like chinese food at all, asked me to save a couple for him. He ended up eating more than I did. The only thing I did differently, was I put about a half an inch of oil in a non-stick skillet and turned these to brown them, I didn't "deep-fry". These are incredible, and better than the local restaurant fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
excellent recipe. These turned out great. I cheated and used the pre-cut cole slaw mix, but otherwise very good. I spiced mine a little with some ginger and garlic. If you don't like fried egg rolls, I sprayed mine with cooking spray and baked at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. My husband said they taste great and he doesn't miss the fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I left out the meat and the msg. These were very good, time consuming but good. I may make these again...lots of work for the taste..not sure it evens out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These are so easy to make! I tried a few of the others suggestions; using a bag of slaw mix instead of carrot and cabbage seperately, and i used white mushrooms (could not find the mushrooms it calls for in this tiny town). I think my fiance fried them wrong because ours were not that crispy.These are fast easy and delicious! I will use this recipe alot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great recipe, I made ours veggie by adding bean sprouts, tofu, carrots, cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My first time making eggrolls, and they turned out amazing!!! I skipped the MSG, and sub'd button mushrooms (couldnt find the wood ear), which I grated with my cheese grater (makes them the perfect size) and used bagged coleslaw mix in place of cabbage. Also grated 1 additional carrot for color and flavor. Skipped the egg inside, and didnt even miss it...These are sooo much better than chinese restaurant egg rolls by far!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscody

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States