Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Once a year, my brother, sister, and I get together for a reunion. Each time we have a "cooking adventure". This year we made these egg rolls. They were fantastic! We substituted fresh shiitake mushrooms because we couldn't find wood ear mushrooms, but everything else was as per the recipe. I have been looking for a recipe like this for years. We served them with duck sauce and sweet and sour sauce. When my married son found out about it, he insisted he and I get together to make a batch for him! I froze some for future dinners, and they froze very well. They didn't last long though! Thank you Mendy Ling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Simply fantastic! Using the pre-chopped cole slaw from the salad aisle cut down on prep time. I served with duck sauce for dipping. These freeze well cooked, but get goopy in the fridge uncooked after a day - whoops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These being my first ever homemade egg rolls, I think they turned out great. I didn't have bamboo shoots, used bean sprouts instead. I also had fresh button mushrooms. By the time everything was ready to refrigerate I realized I forgot to shred my pork so I opened a can of precooked chicken and put that in instead. I added about 3 Tbsp. of Oyster sauce to the mix. The egg rolls were easy to assemble (my 8 year old helped me with everything). We only made half the batch. I planned on assembling the rest and freezing them the following day. If I could give just one tip...whatever type of tray or pan you have your cabbage mixture in, you need to prop it up on one end so all the oil/juice runs out. Otherwise the egg rolls are a bit soggy inside. I placed my leftover mix in a ziplock bag. So I'll be cutting the corner off and letting all the juice run out before making the rest of the egg rolls. Thanks so much for this recipe...it was a success for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by MontanaRed
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
These were great! I used a bag of shredded cabbage & carrots for coleslaw - a great shortcut. I also added some chopped shrimp during the saute process, and after I added the egg I also added fresh bean sprouts. They tasted just like the restaurant! One caution - I rolled these and stacked on a plate and then turned my attention to my entree, and when I was ready to fry the eggrolls found that the dough of the wrappers had all stuck together. Ripped several of them trying to get them apart. Next time I will roll and place on a single layer on a baking sheet until I am ready to go! Also, I froze the leftovers (after frying) and they heat up just terrific in a low oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These were awesome... you definitely have to make them! Actually seemed like ones you would get in a restaurant, I am so happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were good. I left out the mushrooms (I have never seen an egg roll with mushrooms in it) and the pork because I wanted them to be veggie only. We enjoyed them very much will be my go to egg roll recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
these were great. I thought they would be hard. I used vegtable oil and they came out fine. I have not tasted egg rolls like these in years. The only trouble is my husband keeps asking when are you going to make egg rolls again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
A very good recipe, but still not as good as those made by Asian families in my community. I don't know what I'm missing . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These turned out so good! I forgot I was eating at home. A lot of steps, but very easy. I had a hard time finding egg rolls wraps, but finally found them in the produce isle. I fixed these with a sweet and sour chicken recipe I found on this site. It was a truly authentic meal that I will no longer be paying a fortune to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I used a bag of cabbage slaw (instead of dicing all the cabbage and it had carrots in it) and I used pickled ginger instead of fresh (because I had that handy)and it just turned out great. A friend and I whipped this dish up and we served it with hot Chinese mustard and sweet and sour sauce and soy sauce and it was FUN to make and delicious. One thing I could have done was cook everything until it was completely dry because the last couple of egg rolls were a bit too juicy (totally my fault, though). I forgot to get the bamboo shoots and my husband who's only ever eaten an egg roll at a restaurant actually MISSED them. So it would have been better if I had remembered to buy those and put them in as well. Thanks Mendy Ling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States