Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are amazing!! I left out the green onions and MSG and they were still awesome! I fried mine in peanut oil in our deep fryer. I must have had an enormous head of cabbage, because when I shredded 1/2 of the head that I have and mixed it with the other ingredients, I was able to make 40 egg rolls out of this recipe that says it yields 20. The second batch of 20 went into the freezer to be eaten later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly as listed. They were great. The next time I added shrimp instead of the pork and I also used regular mushrooms and seasoned with Lawry's seasoning salt. They were fantastic. I usually double the recipe and freeze them, because my family will eat them alone. These are so much better than any take out egg rolls I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was great... I used Boc Choy instead of chinese cabbage...added fresh sauted shitake mushrooms. made a dipping sauce out of pineapple juice reduction, soy, little rice vin... thickened with arrow root.. very nice..and popular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
AMAZING! These egg rolls were to die for! I didnt have pork, so I cooked ground turkey and added some teriyaki sauce to sweeten it up. I was impressed how good it was. I also added fresh mushrooms that I chopped up. This is the first time I have ever made homemade egg rolls and I will never try another recipe. This is it! They are very easy to make, they just require a bit of prep time. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I am living in Nigeria and host quite a few luncheons for the expat wives here...finally made them "chinese food" which part of the menu were these egg rolls...and of course a new woman was "chinese"...she asked for the recipe! Everyone loved them, thank god I made 30 egg rolls because everyone went back for seconds and thirds! Only thing I didn't use was the MSG...by the way, I am Korean American and this is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used a bag of coleslaw mix (pre shredded cabbage and pre shredded carrot mix...way easy!) and used Lowry's Seaon Salt for the MSG as it has MSG in it (then omitted the extra salt: between the season salt and the soy sauce it had plenty of sodium!)..they came out great. With only 3 of us here to eat them I froze the extras for future easy use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I just made these for a tea party, and let me tell you, I wish I had made more. I made 30 pieces and they ran out within 10 minutes!I had to omit the bamboo shoots (the store ran out) and I used some shiitake mushrooms for more flavour,but besides leaving out MSG, I followed the recipe to a T. Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arena Razak

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
If I could give this more stars I would!! By far the best eggroll I ever ate! I didn't use pork I used some left over chicken , I used baby bella mushrooms and I didn't use msg...STILL THE BEST!!! I also used the "coleslaw mix" trick...Phenomenal!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly-Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Love them and so dose my family. I made some for a family gathering and there wasn't one complaint even from the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Hahaha...I love the name! Love the recipe...thank you for sharing your family tradition...I felt as though I was getting a special treat dirrectly from your family...Thanks Ling family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States