Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I make these often, for years.easier way is to use a package of shredded cole slaw... don't cook the slaw,mix your meat (i like crumbled sausage,shredded bake chicken breast& sometimes chopped shrimp),in the slaw. roll&cook. the slaw will cook when you cook the egg roll and they are crispy but not raw. Not as much work either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Really good recipe. These are very similar to the egg rolls my mom makes. I think MSG is essential. It balances out all the flavors. For those who say MSG is unhealthy, get educated. Read up on it and know that it isn't harmful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very good. Left off the Msg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
good!! I used coleslaw instead of cabbage, a mix of wild mushrooms since i couldn't find wood ear and I marrinated the pork roast in "Irene's Barbeque Sauce" (from this site) and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is the first time that I see bbq or roasted pork is used. I use lean grounded pork. MSG?? Really? No vermicelli noodle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
very good! I am a bit turned off by MSG, so I used none. it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I was a little bit dubious about this recipe, but decided to give it a go anyway. I followed your recipe verbatim using my Chinese BBQ pork. What a surprise, it was excellent! Thank You…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldesertdog
Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These were by far the best egg rolls I have ever eaten! I did as others suggested and made the Chinese Pork Tenderloin recipe from this site. I then used the marinade that was left in the pan after cooking the tenderloin to saute the vegetables for the egg rolls (instead of adding the soy sauce, salt, sugar and MSG this recipe called for). I also used a bag of shredded cole slaw as suggested by others. The result was perfect. P.S. You don't need egg white to seal the wrappers. You can just use water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Um? 300 year old MSG, huh? I doubt the authenticity of this recipe, and the results were fine. Nothing fantastic, tasted like any other egg roll I've ever had. But It definitely wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
thanks! I will try this authentic egg roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States