Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have always wondered how they make the white queso in the resturaunts. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I thought this was great! I only used what I had on hand, so I ended up using some shredded Mexican cheese which wasn't all white and shredded cheddar. I also didn't have that many chili peppers so used the banana peppers from the farmers market I recently wen to. I doubled the milk and cheese amounts as well as added sausage. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Thanks for this authentic recipe.Sounds just like what my favorite Mexican restaurant in Westchester, NY serves over their seafood dish. Will be trying it next time we cook mexican style sea food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My favorite mexican restaurant makes a dip almost the same as this, the recipe is fantastic! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NissaMattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used this as a helper when making chile con queso yesterday. I tend not to follow recipes exactly, so... I didn't add the onion. I sauteéd the tomato as suggested. My cheese was Mexican.. but was called Queso for Quesadillas. I like things spicy, but since I made this for a work function, I used pepper jack and my Quesadilla cheese had chiles in it also. It was really good. Will definitely use this idea again. The only thing I wonder is how to make it not so shiny, glossy, gluey... That is not what I remember from restaurants. In any case, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
First let me say for those who tried this and found that the cheese separated and was oily - I think I figured out the problem there. First, heat the milk you use to thin the queso, don't use cold-from-the-fridge milk. I learned this last year making mashed potatoes and it makes a HUGE difference. I made this recipe twice in 48 hours - the first time I heated the milk and the cheese melted perfectly, the second time I used cold milk and the cheese immediately started to look grainy. Second - make sure you don't overheat it, this will also cause the cheese to break down and the fat/oil will rise to the surface. Unfortunately, I used cold milk AND overcooked the 2nd batch so it was a visual disaster, but everyone still loved it. If you have trouble finding Asadero cheese (I couldn't find any) you can use queso fresco but make sure it's not too crumbly. I got mine at a local Mexican market and it was a tad like string cheese so it melted into stretchy, creamy goodness with chiles in it. I also threw in a jalapeno with the other veggies for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Finally a real queso recipe! This recipe was authentic and yummy and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namaste Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! Similar to what I get at my fave Mexican restaurant. The only thing I didn't add was the tomatoes. Loved it! Thank you Melony. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this dip! I made it as is and it was delicious. For the shredded chicken, i took two frozen chicken breasts, and added them to a pot of water - to the water I added some cumin, corriander, garlic salt, salt and pepper, emeril seasoning, 3 dried red peppers, and chicken boullion powder. The chicken was so flavorful! This recipe was awesome as is, but the last time we made it we tried refried instead of black beans and that turned out delicious as well. Def will be making this one for yrs to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this for my sons grad party and it was a hit !! I added 6 oz cheam cheese, 2 T. garlic and put in all queso cheese. It melted great. I did sub poblano chilies because I am a whip when it comes to hot. This is a keeper !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States