Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have always wondered how they make the white queso in the resturaunts. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used this as a helper when making chile con queso yesterday. I tend not to follow recipes exactly, so... I didn't add the onion. I sauteéd the tomato as suggested. My cheese was Mexican.. but was called Queso for Quesadillas. I like things spicy, but since I made this for a work function, I used pepper jack and my Quesadilla cheese had chiles in it also. It was really good. Will definitely use this idea again. The only thing I wonder is how to make it not so shiny, glossy, gluey... That is not what I remember from restaurants. In any case, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I didn't want to bother with the onions, tomatoes and peppers so I just added some picante sauce to the melted cheese. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was quite stringy still from the shredded cheese, and hardened on our burritos... Perhaps it needed more milk? I stirred the cheese in for about half an hour and it was not getting melted down enough no matter how much I stirred... I might try this again, but add more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
First let me say for those who tried this and found that the cheese separated and was oily - I think I figured out the problem there. First, heat the milk you use to thin the queso, don't use cold-from-the-fridge milk. I learned this last year making mashed potatoes and it makes a HUGE difference. I made this recipe twice in 48 hours - the first time I heated the milk and the cheese melted perfectly, the second time I used cold milk and the cheese immediately started to look grainy. Second - make sure you don't overheat it, this will also cause the cheese to break down and the fat/oil will rise to the surface. Unfortunately, I used cold milk AND overcooked the 2nd batch so it was a visual disaster, but everyone still loved it. If you have trouble finding Asadero cheese (I couldn't find any) you can use queso fresco but make sure it's not too crumbly. I got mine at a local Mexican market and it was a tad like string cheese so it melted into stretchy, creamy goodness with chiles in it. I also threw in a jalapeno with the other veggies for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was oily and it seperated. The taste was pretty bland. I think I'll follow the advice of playing with it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My favorite mexican restaurant makes a dip almost the same as this, the recipe is fantastic! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NissaMattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent and fast for some unexpected guests. We ate it with some homemade tortilla chips, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Thanks for this authentic recipe.Sounds just like what my favorite Mexican restaurant in Westchester, NY serves over their seafood dish. Will be trying it next time we cook mexican style sea food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yum! I'm one of those who struggles with getting the cheese to blend into sauces (I'm sure it has something to do with realizing what a good melting temp should be...., at least, I'm pretty sure....). With this recipe, I had the same problem, but this time, I didn't give up. The flavor of the glumpy mess was too good to give up on, so I simply got out my hand blender wand and gave the mess a whirl. Sure enough, success! --- It wasn't quite as smooth as I would have wanted (again, probably a temp issue), but I simply warmed the smoothed out sauce slowly until it became much smoother. As per the suggestion of the user who used picante instead of veggies, we substituted salsa verde. Also, in the end, we decided that using extra milk and salsa verde made for a lower fat version of the same thing. At first, the change seemed a bad idea - after all, we were used to a lot more cheese clinging to our tortillas, but with a second thought, it seemed just fine - more a state of mind than anything, it seems - and from that point we simply enjoyed it. THEN IT OCCURRED TO US THAT, WITH EXTRA MILK, THIS CLEARLY WOULD MAKE A GREAT CHEESE SAUCE FOR ENCHILADAS...... SUPER YUM! Thanks for a great recipe, and a clue as to how to alter it into more great things..... Queso asadero rocks! This German didn't know just how much more meltable it is until now, but I'm sure glad to know now, finally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States