Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I have always wondered how they make the white queso in the resturaunts. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Thanks for this authentic recipe.Sounds just like what my favorite Mexican restaurant in Westchester, NY serves over their seafood dish. Will be trying it next time we cook mexican style sea food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent and fast for some unexpected guests. We ate it with some homemade tortilla chips, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McKeever Retano

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
My favorite mexican restaurant makes a dip almost the same as this, the recipe is fantastic! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NissaMattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used this as a helper when making chile con queso yesterday. I tend not to follow recipes exactly, so... I didn't add the onion. I sauteéd the tomato as suggested. My cheese was Mexican.. but was called Queso for Quesadillas. I like things spicy, but since I made this for a work function, I used pepper jack and my Quesadilla cheese had chiles in it also. It was really good. Will definitely use this idea again. The only thing I wonder is how to make it not so shiny, glossy, gluey... That is not what I remember from restaurants. In any case, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was oily and it seperated. The taste was pretty bland. I think I'll follow the advice of playing with it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The flavors were good, but the cheese never fully melted and never became smooth like real authentic con queso. Next time I would let melt for longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I didn't want to bother with the onions, tomatoes and peppers so I just added some picante sauce to the melted cheese. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I was more excited with the idea than the end result. I added more milk to make it more sauce-like in texture. It was good, but not as good as I was hoping. We threw it on some nachos with refried beans and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is queso is very mild in flavor, and in my opinion the 1/4 c. milk is too much. I had to simmer it down for 10 minutes so it would thicken up. Thanks for posting Melony1976 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States