Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Mine never combined. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe did not work for me. I ended up with a stringy glob of cheese in a pool of liquid. I cooked and stirred for some time trying to incorporate the liquid into the cheese but I was unsuccessful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Finally a real queso recipe! This recipe was authentic and yummy and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namaste Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was quite stringy still from the shredded cheese, and hardened on our burritos... Perhaps it needed more milk? I stirred the cheese in for about half an hour and it was not getting melted down enough no matter how much I stirred... I might try this again, but add more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is queso is very mild in flavor, and in my opinion the 1/4 c. milk is too much. I had to simmer it down for 10 minutes so it would thicken up. Thanks for posting Melony1976 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I was more excited with the idea than the end result. I added more milk to make it more sauce-like in texture. It was good, but not as good as I was hoping. We threw it on some nachos with refried beans and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I didn't want to bother with the onions, tomatoes and peppers so I just added some picante sauce to the melted cheese. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The flavors were good, but the cheese never fully melted and never became smooth like real authentic con queso. Next time I would let melt for longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was oily and it seperated. The taste was pretty bland. I think I'll follow the advice of playing with it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used this as a helper when making chile con queso yesterday. I tend not to follow recipes exactly, so... I didn't add the onion. I sauteéd the tomato as suggested. My cheese was Mexican.. but was called Queso for Quesadillas. I like things spicy, but since I made this for a work function, I used pepper jack and my Quesadilla cheese had chiles in it also. It was really good. Will definitely use this idea again. The only thing I wonder is how to make it not so shiny, glossy, gluey... That is not what I remember from restaurants. In any case, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States