Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I loved this recipe and it was the first time cooking it. I made an adjustment for the whip cream I used low fat cream cheese. I also served over Basmati rice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
CHicken Tikka Masala is my favorite dish when I go out to eat in an Indian restaurant. This recipe did not disappoint! I made the recipe exactly the way I was instructed. I thought I didn't change the recipe, but as I started writing this I realized I forgot to add the whipping cream to it! Nobody even noticed! It was soo tasty! And leaving the whipping cream out REALLY cut out a lot of calories! I don't do much cooking with peppers, so I learned the hard way that a green chile pepper is the same thing as an Anaheim pepper. The dish came out mildly spicy. I did need to blow my nose after eating it, but it didn't scald my tongue. The taste is delicious! I love it! I wouldn't change a thing on it! The whipping cream is totally optional in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
It's alright but really off. It doesn't taste like it's from an Indian restaurant which is really what I was hoping for. This is a lot spicier and much more tangy with a heaver tomato flavor than the "authentic" tikka masala that I would get from an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Amazing, restaurant quality Tikka Masala. Makes an impressive dish with complex, aromatic flavors that blend together nicely. A bit time consuming to prepare but well worth the effort. For the marinade, used non-fat Greek plain yogurt, and marinated the chicken for four hours instead of two. For the remainder of the recipe, subbed ground cumin since didn’t have cumin seeds, 2 serrano peppers w/ seeds for green chile peppers, 1/4 cup chicken broth for water, and 1/2 cup coconut milk for heavy whipping cream. The main caution for achieving a successful outcome is to consider the heat tolerance for whoever is eating this dish. Green chile (a/k/a Anaheim chile, California Green) peppers range from mild and sweet to moderate hot. On the Scoville Heat Index, a jalapeno pepper can easily exceed 2X the value of a green chile, and a serrano pepper can easily exceed 4X its value; removing the seeds & ribs will also reduce the heat (if not sure, reserve these and add in later if desiring more heat or add some cayenne pepper to taste). For folks who like Indian cuisine, this will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Holy hole-in-the-doughnut, Batman! This recipe is amazing.. turned out *almost* as good as the jar of sauce I've gotten at my local health food store. The only three things I changed: 1. Use fire roasted green chile peppers instead of fresh (4oz can) 2. Replaced chicken with tofu 3. Added about 1 whole cup of coconut milk (Instead of 1/2c heavy cream) When it was all done, it was tasty... but it didn't have sweetness that I was looking for, so I added more coconut milk. And then suddenly, it was PERFECT! Nom Nom Nom..... *drool* Thank you so much for this recipe. Best thing I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Super yummy. Tasted like I was at an Indian restaurant. I cut the red pepper in half, for my husband, but I really had wished I had used what the recipe called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made just as described minus one of the peppers (so it wouldn't be too spicy for me). And it was good, flavorful, went well over the jasmine rice. Great after a cold winter's day, my boyfriend really liked it as well. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't think it was quite as good as the same dish from the local Indian restaurant in town, but then those folks have been making this food forever and they are the BEST! And this was only my first time making Indian Cuisine, so 4 stars is pretty good. I would advise you to give it a shot, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was absolutely AMAZING!!! The best Indian food I've been able to make at home. I didn't have fresh ginger so used dried and did not use cilantro (don't like it). I used only 1 serano pepper without the seeds or insides and that was enough "kick" for me (mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I only used one of the green chilies. I was nervous it would be too spicy for my kids. It was perfect! Best I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I didn't have cumin seeds or turmeric so used ground cumin and dry mustard. Also for time-sake I used canned diced tomatoes and a small can of diced green chiles. I served it over brown rice. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States