Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Simply amazing! Proud to have succeeded in this dish...restaurant style! Would love to find others by the same person who posted...only thing I would change is the amount of onion used...next time I'll make it half an onion. But besides that I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alejandro Lalinde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I want to add that there's a discrepancy between the video and the ingredients shown above. You should used 1 cup of heavy cream as stated on the video, otherwise; you'll get a very dry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It is just like a simple chicken curry, nothing special about this dish. I will never make it again, there isn't anything taste like tikka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was perfect! Added extra spices than stated and substituted coconut milk for cream and added chicken stock with water. So easy to make. Everyone said it was delicious so will definitely be making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is AMAZING. There was a little too much black pepper for me so next time I'll cut it down. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
When I finished cooking it, it was too sweet, and lacked any "kick" at all. I had followed the directions exactly (with the exception of accidentally using 3/4 cup tomato paste instead of 1/2 cup. I seeded the peppers before using too. I don't know whether it was the extra tomato paste, perhaps using onions that were sweeter than they should have been (yellow instead of white), or whether this recipe comes out sweetish. This morning, I went back and added more cumin, cayenne, ginger, and turmeric. Now it tastes a lot better, has a bit of a bite, and the sweetness is dampened to an acceptable level. I'm up in the air as to wether I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Have made this dish many times and this really is a more authentic taste, well liked in my house even by the little ones. Added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I always add more spice into the mix but EVERYBODY loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Have made it several times. Don't substitute anything. The second time I realized I didn't have tomato paste or chili peppers so I tried to improvise. Still good but very noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mehul
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This turned out to be a very good recipe. The flavors were very balanced without one particular flavor overpowering the dish. I followed the recipe fairly closely, with just a couple of variations. I used half-and-half in place of the heavy cream, and in turn it turned out just a bit drier than if I had used the heavy cream. Also, I used the ground cumin and ginger as that is what I had around the house. I accidentally picked up a can of tomato sauce instead of paste at the grocery and realized it while things were already cooking, so I just added an 8 oz can of the tomato sauce instead of the paste and omitted the extra water. Lastly, I used one jalapeno pepper with seeds removed in place of the 2 green chiles, just to temper the spice a bit. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States